Breakfast al fresco

Okay, I know it’s not really summer yet. I do know that. However, the weather here in my part of the world has been absolutely glorious for the past week, and summer does actually start in – um – twelve more sleeps, so I’m using a little poetic license here. It’s my blog, so I get to do that.

One of my regular little summer rituals is having my breakfast outside. My wee backyard and deck face south, so if it’s a nice day, it’s pretty much all sun, all the time there. On a hot and sunny summer day, it gets rather sweaty there past about eleven in the morning. So, if I want to enjoy my breakfast and the lovely outdoor warmth at the same time, it has to be before that time. Which is incentive to get up and get organized before that time. Which is not always that easy on a weekend or during summer vacation.

Since it’s so early in the season (yes, yes, you purists, I know that technically, it’s not “the season”, but poetic license!), I’m still in get-up-early-and-go-to-work mode. And so, this past Saturday morning, right around nine, I was happily outside with my yogourt and raspberries and my café au lait.

IMG_0729

It already looks like it’s gonna be a great summer!

8 responses to “Breakfast al fresco

  1. Bah humbug! Breakfast al fresco in Montreal involves rain boots and umbrellas these days. Hey! Wait! you foisted your weather on us!!!

    • Part of a clever government plot, no doubt: mix up Western and Eastern weather so that the residents get so confused that they vote Harper’s Conservatives back into office this fall!

  2. For a while there it was looking far too hot out your way.
    Enjoy the spring heat while it lasts. The real summer may turn back to rain.

    • Rain is already forecast for tomorrow afternoon – but it will apparently still be around 20 degrees. Tomorrow is also Sports Day at my school, so these are not exactly optimal conditions. 😦

  3. Sounds lovely. If I am in the ‘hood I’ll join you for brekkie sometime. And I love your mosaic table.