More squirrel news

The pest control guy has come and gone, twice now.

The first time, he crawled around in my attic to see what was going on up there. He first called down to me that he saw rat droppings, but not to worry, they looked really old, and besides, if there were still rats there, there would be no squirrels. Evidently, they don’t co-exist very nicely, he informed me, so I was not to concern myself with rats in my attic.

No rats? Oh, good.

Then he determined that my attic was currently home to a mama squirrel and her two babies, but again, not to worry, because the babies were actually pretty grown-up already and had big, bushy tails, so they were well past the nursing stage and were obviously going outside to forage on their own already.

Only three squirrels? Oh, even better.

He said there really wasn’t much damage in the attic, just a bit of insulation ruffled up for a nest and some of the styrofoam at the soffits was chewed up a little, so he didn’t think they had been in there too long. In fact, whenever I heard that scritchy-scratchy squirrely noise, it was actually mostly them scampering along the styrofoam, stopping to chew it only occasionally. Oh, and I shouldn’t be anxious about squirrel droppings around the nest, because squirrels don’t soil near their nests, they would be going outside for that. Then when he came back down, he showed me a couple of photos, and it was true, not much was disturbed up there. I asked about them chewing, particularly if they might chew electrical wires, and the guy shook his head. He said it could possibly happen, but it really wasn’t likely at all. I shouldn’t even entertain the thought, he said.

Minimal damage? Oh, the best news!

The pest control guy didn’t happen to have in his truck a one-way trap door to put up outside the hole in the soffit at the top of my house, so he had to come back with it the next day . He installed it in about 10 minutes, and told me that he’d be back next week to remove it and patch the hole securely. I asked how he’d ensure that the squirrels were out of the attic before doing that (I’d hate to think of living creatures trapped in my attic, unable to ever get out!). He didn’t seem at all concerned about that, repeating that all three squirrels would have to leave the attic in order to find food, and they’d have to do it at some point during the week, so in his experience, it was extremely unlikely that any or all of them would still be up there seven days later – unless there was another entrance. If I still heard squirrely scritches by mid-week, he asked me to call his office and let them know, because they would then have to move on to Plan B: try to find their secondary entrance and set up a one-way door there as well, then coming back a week later to cover up that hole too. But again, I was not to concern myself with that, because it probably wasn’t going to happen. Oh, and when he came back to remove the one-way door and plug the hole, he wouldn’t need to get inside my house, so I wouldn’t even need to be home.

I won’t have to be home? Oh, better than best!

squirrel3And in case you’re wondering, I haven’t heard the squirrels at all since Saturday morning. Sounds like they’re outside where they belong for good. And that’s the supremely best of the best!

6 responses to “More squirrel news

  1. I would rather have squirrels than rats! Glad your problem seems to be solved.

  2. And here I was thinking when he said “it almost never happens” that you would be the one. Happy for you you’re not…

    • So far, so good: my bedroom ceiling is still intact, today’s rain isn’t coming through, I continue to have electricity, and it’s still very quiet up in the attic. We may have a win here!

  3. It’s all a bit squirrely. We don’t have many squirrels around here, much to Max’s disappointment as he loves to chase them. Glad your situation seems to be getting resolved.

    • Send Max on a field trip to Metro Vancouver. There are multitudes of squirrels everywhere – he’d be in heaven! (I’d take very good care of him, too 🙂 )