Mr (finally) Fix-it

It seems that PG had himself a good think about my leaky sink situation, and he decided that there was no effing way that a stupid pipe was going to get the better of him. So yesterday, he cleared everything out from under the sink, took a bunch of photos, and dragged me off to the nearest home improvement store.

Once there, he immediately headed for the kitchen department to have a look at the garburetors. I asked him why. He said that he figured that there was something wrong in the connection between the garburetor and the pipe. No, I insisted, it was the elbow joint between two pipes that wasn’t attached properly. He rolled his eyes at me (Yes, he did! HE had the audacity to roll his eyes at ME! He’ll pay for that!).

Once he’d examined what he wanted to examine, he corralled a clerk. Who was a trainee and didn’t know much (he did listen attentively, though). He went to find another clerk who actually knew something about plumbing. PG explained the situation again. This second clerk nodded wisely and said, “Sounds like the flange isn’t the right size.”

Flange? What is flange?

Well, flange is what I had been calling the “white plastic gasket thingy”. And where was flange? Flange was in the – wait for it – elbow joint between the two pipes. True, one pipe led out of the garburetor, but it definitely had nothing to do with the garburetor connection itself. Which of course I knew.

The clerk led us to where these flanges were kept in the store, and picked out a package that appeared to be the correct size, based upon PG’s photos. He said that he was pretty sure that would do the trick, but he also suggested that we buy some plumber’s putty to slather around the insides and outsides of the edges of the joint in question, just to really seal it up.

We left the store with a small package of two flanges and a small tub of plumber’s putty. The total cost was less than 10$.

As we headed home, PG mused, “I’m really not sure about that. I don’t think that guy knew what he was talking about. I think there’s more to it.”

I suggested that he try what the guy had suggested, and if it didn’t work, putty and all, we could then move on to Plan B. Plan B was call a plumber. Plan B would be much more expensive, at least 100$ just for a plumber to walk through my front door.

“No, I want a second opinion,” PG announced. “Let’s go to another store.”

So we drove to another home improvement store. PG repeated his previous behaviours. He searched out the garburetors, examined them carefully, talked to a clerk … who told him that the flange probably wasn’t the correct size, and if putting in one that was the correct size didn’t stop the leak, add some plumber’s putty to the insides and the outsides of the edges of the joint. PG strode out of the store, now more secure that he had the correct information. “The guys who work in that store are real tradespeople,” he informed me as I trotted to keep up with him. “They know what they’re talking about, because they actually DO the job.”

We went home. Less than five minutes later, so fast that I barely even noticed, PG had the new flange installed in the joint. We ran hot water. We ran cold water. We ran the garburetor. The pipe didn’t leak, not one teeny tiny drop. He didn’t even need the putty.

And I rolled my eyes at PG. “If this was so easy to fix, what took you so long?!?”

photo This is what a flange looks like.

And now you know.

3 responses to “Mr (finally) Fix-it

  1. Don’t let anybody ever say that women don’t know what the hell is going on with plumbing.

  2. And the moral of the story is… the woman is always right! You knew exactly what the problem was, just not the right terminology 😉

    • True! But I will give Porsche Guy the credit for actually going out to those two stores to get the information – and the part – needed. Without his push, I probably would have procrastinated a few more weeks …