Spring break

imagesToday is the third day of my two-week spring break (well, fifth, if you count the weekend. Which technically I should. It is part of the vacation period, after all. But I didn’t. So there.).

As is likely fairly obvious by now, I didn’t go away anywhere. I haven’t gone on a trip during spring break for many, many years. I don’t know why that is, exactly. I mean, I usually go on a big trip in the summer, so why couldn’t I do it at spring break instead? I have no answer to that question. It’s not that I don’t want to, but I suppose it’s more a lack of opportunity: if PG said to me, ‘Hey let’s go to Maui at spring break!”, I would certainly smile and nod, pack my bag and show up at the airport on time. But that’s never happened. (PG – are you reading this?!?)

I know some people who headed off to Hawaii, some who were going to Miami, some who jetted off to Spain, some back to Ontario to visit family, some to Whister to go skiing, some to New York to go shopping and sightseeing.

Me? I’ve been painting the upstairs hallway and stairwell.

I’ve also special-ordered a new laptop (should be here in another week or so), celebrated my mom’s 84th birthday with her, washed all my floors (that is a once-a-year occurrence and should be noted), did a little planting in my minuscule backyard, and became the proud mom of a law student (okay, that’s not till September, but let me bask a little in the reflection of my daughter, will ya?). I’ve already spent a lot of time on the phone conferring with various family members about an extended family get-together that has been planned for the May long weekend, with the discussions mostly centering around who’s going/ who’s not going/ am I going. I have appointments booked with the dentist and the hairdresser (not at the same time, fortunately), one lunch date confirmed and another tentatively set, a breakfast date for tomorrow, and I have tickets to see a play next weekend.

In short, even if I didn’t jet off to some exotic location, I guess I’m going to be pretty busy.

Yep, it’s nothing but fun, fun, fun here in Pinklea-land at spring break.

6 responses to “Spring break

  1. I think my school district owes me many paid weeks as we used to only get a lousy single week back in the days when break coincided with Easter. Otherwise, I think you are keeping too busy and you should have gone to Hawaii. I’ll take any old excuse to go to Hawaii.

    • My district has only had the two week break for three or four years. It’s a cost-saving measure and totally educationally unsound, and the board of education is quite up-front about admitting it. Still, I’ll take it. Even if I don’t go to Hawaii.

  2. I think I have to hate you now, she said as she stared dismally at the pile of boring paperwork on her desk.

    • Oh, and I forgot to mention the temperature of 8, the glorious sun mixed in with the clouds and rainshowers, and my daffodils in full bloom …

  3. I just had a very weird image of what a combined hairdresser/dentist appointment would look like…

    • But think about it: you’re already laying back in a chair with someone sticking metal instruments into your mouth. You might as well get your hair washed at the same time. (Though I’m not sure how you could get a cut and blowdry when laying back like that)