My vacation’s almost over

The Christmas season is over, the New Year has been rung in, and I’m finally sitting home alone, for probably the first time in two weeks. That feels really good!

Christmas was lovely, as usual. I got some terrific gifts, gave some equally terrific ones, enjoyed lots of drinks and food and people. I’ve spent a lot of quality time with various people in my life. I’ve even reconnected with a few folks who I hadn’t seen in a few years. It’s all been great!

However, I’m pretty sure I’ve gained some (more) weight over the past several weeks, so I really must get back on the watch-what-you-eat-and-drink train.

I also need to start cleaning my house more regularly again. There has been some major slippage in that department lately – and some major dust bunnies and cobwebs have been spotted here and there.

I must go get my nails done. It’s already been three weeks since I got them done all sparkly for Christmas, and they have grown out quite noticeably at this point and are chipping off at the edges. Very elegant.

I haven’t cooked a real meal in over a week. We’ve just been picking at leftovers, so proper mealtimes have been more off than on. Also, buying proper groceries hasn’t been much of a priority over the past two weeks, and that has to change. Ferraro Rocher chocolates are not a real dinner.

It might also be a good idea to change my bedding and towels. The rest of the laundry has been getting done fairly regularly (thanks, DD!), but I’ve been slacking off on those items.

However, it’s now a brand new year, and the schools reopen on Monday. My vacation will soon end and my life should get back on its normal track. That’s probably a very good thing, because apparently being on vacation and having all this TIME means that I do pretty much nothing around the house …

… well, nothing except eat crap and drink alcohol and gain weight, it seems!images

4 responses to “My vacation’s almost over

  1. If you can’t fritter away the time on vacation, what’s the point? You just have no time to do that during real life. Now, go fritter away the weekend.

  2. I always think I’m going to get so much done when I have all that ‘free’ time off with no pesky commitments getting in the way. I always frittered it away.

    and, on a side note, I didn’t get nearly enough chocolate this year. I need my Lindor fix (without the Swiss Chalet)

    • I have to admit that although I didn’t really have any grand plans for these past two weeks, I am quite surprised at how I have not only frittered away the time, but how I haven’t even done my normal stuff (like cleaning or grocery shopping)!

      I got LOTS of chocolate from my students – I’d send you some, but I’ve eaten most of it already. 😀