Put ’em up!

On Monday morning, Remembrance Day, we were having breakfast at my house. PG glanced out the window and noticed one of my neighbours out on his ladder, putting up his outdoor Christmas lights.

“Look at Martin,” he said in a conversational tone. “He’s putting up his Christmas lights already.”

I scurried to look out the window.

“That’s stupid!” I pronounced. (Not that I’m judgmental or anything…) “It’s only November 11th! That’s WAAAAY too early to put up Christmas lights!”

“It’s actually not a bad idea,” PG went on, as if I hadn’t spoken. “I mean, they don’t have to be plugged in or anything. It’s not raining outside, and the temperature isn’t too bad – it’s a pretty good day to put them up, I think.”

So guess what we did a scant hour later?

ar132495040092951And you know what? It was the first time EVER that I’ve put up Christmas lights and I wasn’t cold and/or wet and/or drippy-nosed and/or having to pee every five minutes and/or wishing it was already done so that I could get back inside and wrap myself up in a warm blankie in front of the fire and sip a hot rum toddy.

Actually, not a bad idea. Not bad at all.

4 responses to “Put ’em up!

  1. I hate to admit it but it’s not a bad idea. You know what I think about when I put up Xmas lights. Taking the %$#@ things down later. But, I don’t think I’ll put mine up yet.

  2. I never have the cold/wet/drippy/pee thing going on either. I just never put up christmas lights.

    Bah, humbug!

    • Funny – the only time I have ever really felt that I was managing winter well was when I was in Québec one February about 5 years ago. I learned that the thermometer may show a way lower number there, but when you’re wearing long underwear and a down jacket, you are not NEARLY as miserable as you are in BC when it’s drizzling and a balmy 7 degrees C. That constant moisture is what gets you! I could be wrong, but I don’t think it has much to do with Christmas lights.