Gotta lose it

I’m sitting here chowing down on the remains of last night’s dessert: warmed rhubarb crumble with ice cream. Well, technically, I am also sitting at my desk, typing a blog post on my laptop, but that’s not the important thing here. Except, I guess it actually IS pretty important, because if I wasn’t doing that, you would have no idea what I was doing and if you don’t, then I wouldn’t be able to segue into my point …

Which is what, exactly?

Okay, let me backtrack a bit. I don’t know if I mentioned this previously, but my doctor recently told me to get my bloodwork done, as apparently, I hadn’t had a full workup since 2009. (And whose fault is that, DOCTOR?!? I have a checkup annually, and you’re supposed to be on top of these things. Don’t you ever look at my file? And while we’re talking about that, I actually believe that I HAVE had bloodwork done since then, but I think the results were never entered into my file … which would be the fault of your medical assistant – and likely your ditzy part-time one, not the full-time one who is most excellent and never misses a thing.)

Anyway, I got the bloodtests done and a few days later, I got a call from my doctor’s assistant (the full-time one, not the airhead part-time one, so I trust what she said) asking me to come in to talk to my doctor. “It’s nothing too serious,” she added.

Ha. Like THAT mollified me. After my fifth friend was diagnosed with breast cancer a couple of weeks ago, EVERYTHING is serious to me! As far as I was concerned, I was suspected of having some dread disease and more tests were needed and then a treatment plan would be required and then I was going to die a hideously painful death in a few days anyway.

imagesBut really, all it turned out to be was that my cholesterol level was up. I was told that this is quite normal as one ages (so why, exactly, did I need to come in to see her then?), and that there were a couple of things that she wanted to encourage me to do in order to avoid medication as long as possible.

She wanted me to exercise more. My response to that was, “More? More than five times a week?!?” She asked me what exactly I was doing. I told her that I worked out at a gym four days a week usually, and went to a Pilates class once a week. She nodded and typed a note into my computer file.

She wanted me to eat more vegetables and less meat. “I only eat meat maybe once or twice a week,” I informed her. “I don’t like meat a whole lot, so I mostly cook vegetarian.” Again, she nodded and added another note. She asked me about the other food groups and didn’t seem to like the fact that I eat a lot of fruit and that I eat something from the grains food group most days.

Then she wanted me to lose weight, 10% or 15% of my current body weight, to be precise. She said if I was already exercising and eating reasonably well, losing weight would bring down that cholesterol level and then I wouldn’t need medication.

But isn’t exercising and eating reasonably well what one usually DOES to lose weight? Don’t those things go hand in hand? Isn’t it as simple as eating less and/or better plus more exercising equals weight loss?

Apparently not, because I haven’t lost any weight since I started this more intense exercise regime, at the beginning of August.

It’s a mystery to me. Also, my doctor didn’t seem to be the least bit concerned that I was actually overweight anyway. Still, I am going to try to change my eating habits a bit.

9504-rhubarb-crumble-l And that’s why I’m eating rhubarb crumble and ice cream. Maybe that will jump-start my weight loss.

8 responses to “Gotta lose it

  1. Damn but that photo looks tasty. One of my absolutely favorite desserts. Screw cholesterol, I want you to send me some.
    Otherwise, I have been on statins for cholesterol for about a year now. My cholesterol isn’t inordinately high but since I had a TIA a few years ago my doctor likes to err on the side of caution. Personally, I hate taking any sort of medication. I’m also on blood thinners which are OK except they make me cold sensitive and if I nick myself pruning roses I hemmorhage like Marie Antoinette post guillotine. I’m tired of getting older but the alternative really sucks. Take care or yourself, my dear and do what you must. I’m too fond of you to want you to do otherwise.

    • That’s exactly it: getting older is bad, but the alternative is worse! And I’ve probably mentioned this before, but my genetics are working against me with cholesterol levels, bp, and strokes. So yes, I’ll end up doing what my doctor tells me. (And YOU better keep following your doctor’s orders too!)

  2. You know, it takes a whole lotta calories to digest ice cream. Everyone knows that. πŸ˜‰

  3. You’re supposed to eat more vegetables than fruit… fruit has sugar, which is baaaaad πŸ˜‰

    • Plus carbs are “bad”, and dairy is “bad”, and fats are “bad”, and who know what else is “bad” – sheesh! Everything in moderation, people! No one can stick to a diet where they eliminate entire food groups, least of all me. The food guides keep changing too: I remember when fruits and veg were lumped together in one category and nutritionists didn’t care so much which you ate as long as they composed a good chunk of your normal diet.

      Sigh. Back to the carrot sticks, I guess!

  4. If you’re exercising more but not losing weight then that’s probably because you’re putting on muscle, which weighs more than fat. A better indication is to take your measurements. I would highly recommend the 5:2 Fast Diet which we’ve been doing – I’ve lost 14lbs and the husband a massive 40lbs. My blood pressure is back to normal too. I actually don’t know what my cholesterol level is – we don’t get annual medical checkups in the UK.

    • The thing is, my doctor hadn’t said a thing about my weight at my original checkup, nor did she until I explained that I already DID exercise and eat properly. So I’m not totally convinced that my weight is a real issue. However, I don’t deny that losing a few would help in other areas (cholesterol and bp), so I’m going to give it a go. And yes, the 5:2 diet sounds great – and almost easy!