Humming along

I had to go grocery shopping last night. That’s my exciting Friday night, grocery shopping. Isn’t middle-age fun?!

Although DD usually comes with me, she’d been working till 7 last night, so she said she didn’t feel like accompanying me. “Feel like”??? And I “feel like” spending an hour and a half most Friday nights dealing with food that I’m not currently eating???

Ah, well. We must eat, so I set off alone.

While in the deli section of our local supermarket, I saw the hummus. DD likes hummus a lot, so even though I was miffed that she wouldn’t get off her butt and come shopping with me, I texted her to ask if she wanted some hummus, since it was on sale. She affirmed that yes, she did. I suggested two cartons of the caramelized onion flavour, to which she enthusiastically agreed.

Then I looked at the sign again. I texted her back that I seemed to have made a mistake, that the brand with the caramelized onion flavour didn’t seem to be on sale. DD texted “LOL”, obviously not comprehending how I could make such a silly error.

But in my defense, this is the sign that confused me:
photo

What does that even mean?!? Why are we talking about “tribes”? Are we referring to “shieks” as a type of container particular to hummus? Does this mean that two of these “shieks” of hummus make a “tribe”? Is this “tribe” being “assorted”? Is this actually any form of English? What the hell is going on with this sign anyway?!?

Clear as mud, no?

I gave up and didn’t buy any hummus.

7 responses to “Humming along

  1. I’ve nominated you for the Liebster Award on my blog: http://confuzzledom.wordpress.com/2013/09/26/the-liebster-award-and-some-random-ramblings/
    Don’t worry, there are no questions to answer with this one πŸ˜‰

  2. Surely a tribe of two would be a mere pair. A pair of hummus? A hummus couple? Now I’m even more confused…

  3. another clue that something was terribly amiss might have been the misspelling of sheiks.
    or maybe they meant: tribe of two, shrieks ‘hummus, assorted’