Shouldering responsibility

I got discharged from physiotherapy last week. My physiotherapist pronounced my shoulder almost perfect. She felt that I had pretty much my full range of motion again. She said she really couldn’t find any more muscles that needed needles stuck into them to relax them. If there was a sharp, pinching type of pain, she admonished me to come back in for more treatment, but for now, I was good to go.

I was pretty happy about this, as you can imagine. I have been dealing with this painful right shoulder of mine rather intensively since last October, and it actually hadn’t been right for several years before that. I have had many chiropractic sessions, hours of massage therapy, and a whole whack of physio and intramuscular stimulation with the needles.

And let’s not even try to figure out just how much money I have spent on this issue in the past nine months. It’s got to be well in excess of a thousand dollars – maybe closer to two thousand? – and I won’t get all of it back from my insurance company. I will get a good chunk of it back, but although I sent in the paperwork right after my final physio appointment, I haven’t heard back from them yet. But I don’t really care, to be honest. I was in pain, I needed the treatments, I paid for the treatments, and I’ll get back what I get back. I’m so lucky to have a job that is well-paying enough and that provides me with an extended health plan that is good enough that I don’t have to worry overly much about the money.

So now that I have been deemed healthy again and no longer have to go to regular physio sessions, why do the muscles in my right shoulder continue to hurt a bit? I can move that shoulder properly again, but it’s rather stiff almost every morning, particularly the deltoid muscle (See? I actually DID retain some of the info that my physio tried to get into my little brain!), and it sometimes pulls uncomfortably when I lift my arm in certain ways.

I had told my physio about this during the last couple of appointments that we had, and although she wrote it down on my chart each time, she wasn’t terribly concerned about it. I mean, she DID discharge me, after all. Maybe it’s just residual pain that will work itself out as the shoulder continues to heal? Maybe this really was a true frozen shoulder and this is the latter part of the its two-year cycle? Maybe that’s just what happens at the conclusion of IMS? Maybe my shoulder will just be like this now due to the ever-wonderful ageing process?

Or maybe I’ve jumped back into near-daily workouts at the gym a little too fast? I suppose that’s a possibility, but I hope not, since I’ve really missed being able to work out so regularly. Well, just in case that’s the problem, I guess I won’t attempt any girl push-ups for a while longer. It might not be easy, but I think I can make that one small sacrifice, for now, just for the good of my right shoulder, you know.

4 responses to “Shouldering responsibility

  1. You are fortunate to have insurance. I have none and was wondering just how much longer I could go on with my therapy. I have had to quit working and am pleased that I am now only needing biweekly treatments.
    I am glad for you that you are finally fixed up.

    • Oh no! I’m so sorry to hear that you’re STILL not right, and doubly sorry that you can’t work – that’s horrible! And here I was, whining self-indulgently about how long it’s taken me to recover! I really, really hope things improve for you very, very soon! xo

  2. Be good to yourself, dear sister. Glad you are finished with physio and can look to moving on. Yeah, age shit. Don’t even want to go there.

    • Yes, I can just look forward to my next age-related disaster with my body now … because there’s always a next one, isn’t there?!