Stop?

photo
I was walking near my home the other day and came across this sign.

It was attached to a post for an actual stop sign, which is not visible in the photo.

I’m not sure quite what to think of this. I mean, wouldn’t the big red octagon with the white letters spelling out STOP be clear enough? And what’s with the quotation marks around the word “not”? So is it meant to be sarcastic and therefore we don’t really have to stop because it’s possibly not a real four-way stop? And why would that matter anyway? Stop is stop. You see it, you stop. That’s what you do.

I’ll never know, but I choose to think that somebody had a near miss at that corner where perhaps somebody else didn’t stop. Maybe the person who didn’t stop thought it was a four-way stop, and so assumed that the other person (the one they almost hit) was going to stop. Only nobody ended up stopping and there was nearly a car crash.

The other possibility is that there is someone in my neighbourhood who feels we all need some clarification on this stopping concept.

Yeah, that’s a tough one to grasp, all right.

4 responses to “Stop?

  1. ‘Stop! In the name of love, before you break my heart.” Sorry, couldn’t resist. Sorry I haven’t been around in the past few days. My computer had an attack of the vapors and had to go to the infirmary. It’s back now and revitalized.

    • Or maybe your computer crashed at what it thought was a four-way stop, but turned out not to be?

      (And there’s my feeble attempt at a joke right back at you! 😀 )

  2. That’s worthy of Passive Aggressive notes.com!