Still here …

So I guess I better write something here. I mean, it’s been a while since my last post. You might be wondering if I’m still alive at this point – if you’re still reading, I suppose. You might not be. But I couldn’t possibly know that, so just in case anybody IS still reading, I am, in fact, still alive.

I do seem to have lost some of my blogging mojo, though. I just can’t seem to muster up the same old enthusiasm for blogging. Oh, I still read all the blogs I used to read, and find a new one to follow every month or so. I’m not commenting a whole lot, though, which would fit right in with the not writing much in my own blog lately.

I suppose it’s pretty normal to get like this sometimes. I mean, we can’t all be superstars all the time, can we? We all need down time, even if it’s from something that we enjoy. And it would be perfectly okay to decide to not blog any more, too. But I don’t think I really want to do that.

Well, I simply must do a little better. I just need to write a couple hundred words a little more often, that’s all. I don’t have to spend five hours putting some masterpiece together, do I? There are no expectations here, blogging is something I do for myself. I LIKE to write. So I should sit down and WRITE!
still-here-1
Okay. I’ve talked myself back into it.

I hope.

So there it is: I shall TRY to post a little more often.

Because I’m not quite ready to throw in the towel. Not yet, anyway …

12 responses to “Still here …

  1. I never get like that. I guess I like the starring role in my own story. I use my blog like a diary and am always ready and willing to write another post. I probably bore other people to death with them, but I don’t care.

    • Maybe that’s the difference, that your blog is your day-to-day diary and mine is more selected anecdotes. You are very much in the daily habit of writing, and I’m not – except for work. I write a lot for work, but nobody who isn’t a teacher at my school would want to read most of that stuff!

  2. I’ve been having the same crisis for at least a year now. I have posts popping into my head all the time. I write them and flesh them out in my head and never seem to be able to get my shit together enough to actually write them down. Which is sad because I love blogging.

    • According to DD, who is a trained copywriter/ technical writer/ whatever writer (and who can’t find a full-time job writing!), the only thing to do when you don’t feel like writing is to WRITE. And that’s HARD.

  3. I think we all get like that occasionally. I know I have had phases of not blogging for months simply because it feels like a chore rather than something I enjoy doing. Glad to hear you’re still alive 😉

    • That’s exactly it: blogging has been feeling like a chore! But I’m making a concerted effort to get over it, because I’m just tired of that feeling. This is supposed to be FUN, dammit, so I’m going to have FUN again!

  4. Maybe you’ll get some more baby birds?

    • Yeah, that was good for a lot of posts, wasn’t it? I’ll have to closely watch my hanging baskets for nests (once I put them up).

  5. oh I hear ya. you may have noticed my posts have diminished. I will need to start visiting those cemeteries again soon so that I will have something other than stamps and postcards to write about.

    • At least you have a couple of tried-and-true standards to write about. I got nuthin’ most of the time! Maybe I should renovate more?

  6. I know exactly what you mean and I get like that with my blog at least every week or so. So, dear sister, I sincerely hope you don’t throw in the proverbial for I’d miss you. If you did we’d have to connect on FB. But, I would still miss your blog. It remains one of my faves.

    • You get it every week or so?! I don’t think my constitution could stand such a crisis of faith that often! But don’t worry, Big Brother, I’m still writing. Sometimes.