Spelling fail

At work, I sometimes use the girls’ bathroom across the hall from my classroom. Sometimes I just can’t be bothered to make the long trek to the end of my hallway, then waaaaaaay down another hallway to the staffroom and the teachers’ bathrooms. Sometimes things are rather – er … urgent, you know! (I am in my fifties, after all.) But most of the time, I’m just plain lazy.

So today, in between classes, I popped into one of the stalls in the girls’ bathroom. I closed the door and prepared to pee. Then I actually looked at the door.

There was graffiti on it!

This is quite unusual for an elementary school, I think. I’ve been teaching a lot of years, and I can probably count on the fingers of one hand the number of times I have seen graffiti written on the walls inside an elementary school building. Of course, secondary schools are quite different and are often chock-full of graffiti all over the place. But I’m just not used to seeing it in a place where the kids range in age from not-quite-five to just over thirteen years old.

Yet there it was for all to see on the door of the second stall of the girls’ bathroom closest to the playground.photo

That’s a pretty bad photo and the writing is really hard to read, but it actually says: I hate this hcsool!!!…

I looked at it and laughed out loud. Yes, some kid here apparently hates this school.

And also isn’t doing too well in spelling, I’m guessing.
photo

6 responses to “Spelling fail

  1. Well much as she hates it, she might have to spend the rest of her life there if she doesn’t learn to spell

    • I thought we could have a spelling test in every classroom, which would include the word “school”. Whoever spelled it as on that bathroom door would almost certainly be our graffiti artist – and would then likely be added to one of our learning support groups that focuses on spelling.

  2. Need for a little remediation here if you could catch the culprit. When I was teaching high school I was working late grading papers one day when the head custodian came into the staffroom and told me he wanted to show me something. It was about 5 pm and the kids were all gone. He ushered me into th girls’ restroom. I have never seen such a sty and won’t relate to some of the bad housekeeping here. But, the worst was the graffiti; blatant, bald, intensely sexual, etc. He noted that the boys’ room was pretty much clean in comparison. So, your student is obviously preparing for high school days.

    • I’m actually thinking this was the work of a primary-aged girl, simply because the word “f***king” isn’t there. But then again, maybe she didn’t know how to spell that either!

  3. I hate this, he’s cool?

    • Good try, but nope – it’s “I hate this hcsool (school)”. And I do have to say that I have never seen “school” misspelled like that before! Usually they just omit the “h”.