Slow-down

Merry after-Christmas. We are now in the lull between Christmas Day and New Year’s Eve. I don’t know about you, but I find that I’m often just a little lost during this week.

Christmas was lovely, as it usually is: lots of food, friends, family, fun. The gifts have been tucked away, the leftovers are slowly being consumed, the major busyness (“Busyness”? Is that even a word, let alone spelled correctly? It doesn’t look right, but spellcheck is letting it go.) is over with. I had vague plans of going out for coffee/lunch/dinner/a movie with friends in the next week or so, but I’m just not feeling it at the moment.

I think I just want to kick back and relax at home. I think I want to curl up by the fire with a glass of wine in my hand, candles lit all around the room, and a decorating magazine to leaf through. I think that even though this is prime social time, I want to not be social for a while.

So I think I will do just that.

Besides, PG is currently ensconced in front of my TV, wrapped in a blanket, dosed up with Tylenol cold medication, glass of water and box of tissues at the ready. Yep, the dreaded man-cold. And as we all know, the only way for a woman to cope with that is to hide in another room.MjAxMS01NjhmODFhYTQxYjc5OGU4

5 responses to “Slow-down

  1. Just don’t you be messin’ with a man-cold, dollink. What you must do is fetch-and-carry and be filled with sympathy. Right? Prolly not. Anyway, glad you had a good Christmas and I understand perfectly about growing weary with social obligations — indeed obligations of any sort. May you all have a wonderful 2013 and my hope for you is that you have a much healthier one than moments 2012 have been for you. OK. That wish is now out there in the universe so you should be good.

    • I was good, promise! I fetched and carried and sympathized for two days – and then PG went back to his barely-heated, always-feels-damp-to-me warehouse to work on a buddy’s car with him. At that point I thought, “Hmm. Perhaps he’s not quite as sick as originally portrayed?” So I sat right down with a glass of wine and a butter tart and thought about other things. I’m sure we both felt much better then!

  2. Christmas was spent with a colicky 2 month old.
    That trumps any man-cold. He does not get my sympathy.

    • Yes. A colicky baby wins over a man-cold any time, no questions asked. Hope she was able to settle down a little so everyone could make just a little merry!

      • We were rarely all in the same room at the same time and didn’t get to see enough of her, but we still made merry – albeit much more quietly than usual 😉