Bring it on!

It’s almost Christmas. At my house, everything is pretty much done at this point. The only thing I’d like to do today is clean the house, because I have this weird thing about wanting the house clean for Christmas Day. For some reason, that’s important to me. I’m not at all sure why, but there you go. A clean house is a Christmas house.

School didn’t get out till Friday the 21st, which is later than usual, so I had been a bit concerned that I wouldn’t be able to get ready on time. Many years we are out almost a whole week ahead, which is nice, because then I have all that time to get my shopping/baking/decorating/cleaning done without having to fit it in between the hours I spend at that pesky workplace of mine … which was not the case this year.

Still, it somehow all got done, even things like having to cajole PG into getting down the Christmas tree and putting it together, then climbing up the ladder to put up the outdoor Christmas lights. Having to depend upon somebody else to do those things was the hardest for me, since I physically couldn’t do those two things myself this year, due to my shoulder problem (which, by the way, is progressing very nicely. I now have about 3/4 pain-free mobility – yay massage therapy!).

Yes, Christmas can now happen in Pinklea-land.

imagesBut by far, the largest harbinger of the imminent arrival of Christmas is my birthday. In fact, my birthday is currently happening. Today. As we speak. Birthday stuff actually started happening yesterday, when my mom took DD and I out for dinner and gave me my card – with money in it. She wasn’t supposed to give me any type of birthday gift now, because technically, she already did. You see, about a month ago, Mom asked me to sell her old gold jewellery, so I gathered up some of my old and broken gold jewellery as well and took it all to a local jeweller. While there, I saw a pair of very pretty diamond drop earrings. With Mom’s permission, I used the cash I got for all that old gold, plus some of my own money to get myself those earrings as an early birthday gift. But my mother is a generous woman, and she said that she couldn’t just give me a simple birthday card so she HAD to put something in it. Bonus!

Then, this morning, DD presented me with a brand new yoga mat and took me out for breakfast. PG has texted me several many times already, and will be taking me out for dinner this evening. I know I will be getting a few more calls and texts throughout the day too, so I’m feeling quite content right now!

So, let’s get this show on the road already! It’s Christmas!

6 responses to “Bring it on!

  1. Happy belated birthday!

    I always have to have a clean house for Christmas day, too. Including this yearwhen we weren’t even here! I would still have known it was messy even without being able to see it…

  2. You are certainly being fêted this birthday-noël!
    Many happy returns!

  3. Happy Birthday, sister girl. It seems to be in the process of being a lovely one. And feliz navidad, joyeux noel and all the other multilingual seasonal offerings including mele kalikimaka to you and yours and may you be blessed with much better health in the new year just so I don’t have to worry about my baby sister.

    • Thanks Ian. I don’t want to worry about me either, to be quite honest, so I’m certainly hoping for a healthier year. And Merry Christmas, Happy New Year, etc etc to you and Wendy. xoxo