Booting up

I bought these great boots two weeks ago. 1961960-p-MULTIVIEWWell, not exactly these boots here, but pretty close. I could have taken a photo of my actual boots, but I was lazy. So you have to make do with a photo that I didn’t take of boots that I don’t actually have.

Just keep in mind that these are pretty close.

Anyway, I detest buying boots because, like practically all the women I know, I have “large” calves. These would be calves that don’t fit into “regular” boots. I often wonder who does fit into “regular” boots. Stick women? Female giraffes? All I know is that the vast majority of the women I know have trouble stuffing their calves into most knee-high boots.

But I found these, and they are expandable, with buckles on the side so you can adjust them perfectly around whatever size calves you have. For the first time since I wore cowboy boots in the late 1970s, I can actually comfortably stick my pants inside my boots! It is a glorious thing. Those of you who have always been able to do this (all four of you) have no idea what a wondrous event this is.

So I have been wearing these boots almost every single day since I purchased them. I alternate them with a pair of ankle boots, which is what I have been wearing for years now, since I didn’t have to worry about my “large” calves not fitting with such short boots. Of course, that’s a whole different look, ankle boots, but now I have knee-high boots as well. The fashion possibilities are now endless!

Yesterday the rain was just teeming down (news flash: it rains in Vancouver). I was on supervision outside before school started. I was well-equipped with my down jackets, my gloves, my umbrella, and my tall boots. I was invincible!

As I patrolled my area, I noticed that water was pooling around this one corner of the school parking lot. It was having some trouble draining into the storm sewer system, because a whole whack of leaves were blocking its access. Being the caring person that I am, I decided to kick those leaves out of the way so that the water could make its merry way out of the parking lot and down into the storm sewer. There were a lot of leaves to move. As I kicked and pushed and manoeuvred the leaves away from the grate, it occurred to me that maybe my boots weren’t waterproof and that maybe I shouldn’t be standing in 5 centimetres of water.

No shit, Sherlock. When you neglect to spray your new boots with protectant and especially when you stand in water that is higher than the bottom of the side zipper of said boots, they’re not very waterproof at all. No, they are certainly not.

And that is why my feet were already soaking wet on Thursday morning at only 8:15 in the morning.

8 responses to “Booting up

  1. As a fellow “large calf” person, I commend you on your find. Now go waterproof those awesome boots.

  2. Those? Are some seriously cute boots. I love the buckles. And the four women who have always been able to put their pants in their boots? Down to three now. One of them gained 2 1/2 ounces and is no longer able to. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks Nicky! πŸ™‚ I was a little iffy about the buckles at first, but yeah, now I like them. Also – any ideas how we can get rid of those last three women? I figure if we can do that, maybe boot manufacturers will finally make boots that fit the calves of all the rest of us.

  3. ‘These boots are made for walkin’ Oh, dear sister, you hit me right at my heart. I love the look of women in boots. Have for years. High boots especially. And yes, you do need to waterproof them.

    • I know, I know … high boots, fishnet stockings, leather mini-skirt, bustier … PG has expressed the same penchant for women in boots. But just spare a thought now for how damn tough it is for most of us women to get the damn boots up over our fishnet-clad stockings! πŸ˜‰