TIming is everything

DD and I went out for sushi last night. We went to a fairly new restaurant, one of eight (yes, EIGHT) sushi places within walking distance of our home. We’d been there twice before, and both times the food was pretty good but the service left something to be desired. We put it down to a new restaurant’s growing pains.

I’m not giving them the benefit of the doubt any more.

Last night, although our orders were taken first, the couple beside us got their food before we did. DD’s California roll and dragon roll arrived next. My food didn’t. Then I got my miso soup – and only my miso soup. She was already halfway finished before my dinner box came (she apologized, but said she was too hungry to wait for me!). I looked at it. The chicken teriyaki had only a drizzle of teriyaki sauce. Where was the dynamite roll? Since when did sunomono come with that particular dinner box?

Still, I like sunomono, so I dug in. And then the server came back and said how sorry she was, but she’d given me the wrong order, that the dinner box was actually for the couple next to us. My first thought was, What? They get even MORE food before I get mine?? My second thought, which I voiced aloud, was, “Oh. I just ate some of this sunomono, though.”

The server looked bewildered. She picked up the sunomono with one hand, the dinner box with the other. She placed the dinner box on the table of the couple next to us. She told them that she would fetch them a new bowl of sunomono. She skittered off.

The man at that table looked at me. I looked at him and shrugged. “Honestly, I only had a mouthful of the sunomono,” I assured him. “I didn’t touch anything else.”

He got his new sunomono. I got nothing. I waved down another server and asked if I was going to get any food at all this evening. She apologized and gave me some story about lots of orders coming in all at once … blah blah blah. I asked for some more tea, at least.

Eventually my dinner box arrived. DD was pretty much finished her two rolls. My chicken teriyaki was cold. My tempura was limp. But I was really hungry, so I ate most of it. When I was almost done, we got more tea from the now snarly-looking server.

Needless to say, we did not tip, nor will we ever return.

And as we were leaving, I took this photo of the sandwich board outside the restaurant:

I guess you could say we missed their one “business hour”.

4 responses to “TIming is everything

  1. That truly sucks. I hate when that happens. Our favourite Indian place reopened this summer after a year-long hiatus because of a fire. They haven’t been blacklisted yet, but the quality has been so up and down that they’re on the edge. You really shouldn’t slack off when, as on Jean Talon street, there are are about 20 Indian restaurants over 4 blocks.

    • That’s a very good point about not slacking off when there are so many similar restaurant choices nearby. I have seven other sushi places in the neighbourhood that I can patronize – until and unless they too piss me off somehow!

  2. Wow, that is truly atrocious! And I thought service in Germany was bad – at least here you get served, even if it’s not with a smile (they are getting better on that front though).

    • It was pretty pathetic! And I was so pissed off that I couldn’t even be bothered to take it up with management. I just didn’t care at that point, I just wanted to get out and never darken their doorstep again.