Paint-a-thon

My decade-long quest (thus far) to renovate and improve my home has moved another small step ahead. I have repainted the powder room and downstairs hallway and I have (or more precisely, PG has) changed the light fixtures in all three bathrooms.

Those particular walls used to be a light pink colour. (What, you thought I was nicknamed “Pinklea” just for fun?!) Now they are a darker, almost-burgundy-but-not-as-deep colour. I can’t really describe the colour very well (obviously), and it’s called “Merry Meredith” which is in no way useful. So here’s some photos: This is the downstairs hallway, complete with two pairs of DD’s shoes, my black sweater and my purple Lululemon hoodie just to prove that real people live here.

This is my little entrance hall, again with a pair of DD’s shoes to accessorize down there in the bottom left corner. (Sheesh, doesn’t that girl EVER put her shoes away?!)

Here is the powder room. No shoes this time. I was a little hesitant about painting this room darker, as it’s so small, but all the home decorating magazines say if you want to try dark, a small powder room is the place to try it. Which sounds rather paradoxical. But I tried it and I quite like the result.

And here is the new light fixture in that powder room. I’m so happy with it! I used to have those ugly vanity lights like on a make-up mirror, and this is so much nicer and so much less “this-house-was-built-in-1998”. The other two bigger bathrooms now have similar fixtures, only with four lights instead of the three shown here.

I’m pretty pleased with how this all turned out. It actually didn’t take a huge amount of time (although I could have worked more than just an hour or so a day – hey, I had other stuff to do!).

And now, I have three burning questions for you: 1) If I can do this in less than a week, why oh why can’t I get motivated and get my kitchen counters, cupboards and backsplash redone? 2) Am I now ready to be featured on some HGTV design program? 3) How on earth do I describe that colour?!?

6 responses to “Paint-a-thon

  1. There is something infinitely gratifying about finishing a painting project. Last year we finally mustered the energy to do our living and dining rooms and we are still finding the results to be darn well heavenly. BTW, I don’t think ‘Burgundylea’ would have the sort of ring to it ‘Pinklea’ does.

    • “Burgundylea” – just no. I will stick with “Pinklea”, regardless of the colour of my powder room and downstairs hallway.

  2. Yep. The dog. Love the dog. And the pink though I’d not have the guts to paint my hall pink.

    • Guau says “Thanks!” And it’s not really pink in the usual manner of pinkness, I don’t think. It’s darker, more like a light burgundy but with more blue in it maybe … hell, I don’t know what to call it!

  3. I like the colour but I lurve the doggie coathanger!!

    • Isn’t it cute? It’s from Ikea, purchased 8 or 9 years ago. We named him “Guau”, which is supposed to be Spanish for “Woof”, according to DD’s high school Spanish teacher. (No, I don’t know why.)