And I quote …

Being the grammar, punctuation, and spelling Nazi that I am, I am constantly finding other people’s writing errors. I’m quite tiresome about it, I’m sure, but honestly, I can’t help it! About the only thing I can do is to not mention it … much. It’s often not that big a mistake, but it’s hard for me to just let it go and say nothing.

It’s REALLY REALLY hard when it’s something that another teacher at my school has done and has put on display:

I mean, that sure looks like a butterfly, doesn’t it? In fact, I don’t believe that there’s any doubt whatsoever that there is a beautifully coloured butterfly affixed to the wall. It is very definitely a butterfly, no question. It is not a pretend butterfly, it IS a butterfly.

So why the quotation marks???

That is all.

10 responses to “And I quote …

  1. This is annoying, but not nearly as annoying as people who cannot tell the difference between their, they’re and there. Including my own sister. Who I KNOW knows better, but was just being lazy on Facebook. Aaargghh!

    • Bevchen – Oh, let’s not start on that! I could write REAMS on their/there/they’re or your/you’re or its/it’s or who’s/whose!!! Better not to go there … I get rather worked up. 😉

  2. I love your blog. I love that you care so deeply about punctuation. I felt so strongly, I have passed along an award to you. YOu can check it out on my blog post at – http://www.hammockinthehoneysuckle.blogspot.com

    Carrie

    • Welcome, and thank you so much, Carrie! 🙂 I’ll grab that award and post it – um – as soon as I have a couple hours to – uh – remember exactly how to do it. Again. ( I was going to say something about how busy I am, bla bla bla, but the truth is that I’ve simply forgotten how to add stuff to my sidebar. Again. Sigh. I will figure it out, though. Again.)

  3. That’s why I love you. The same things piss you off as do me. I think it runs in our gene pool in our symbolic family as Miss Jazz feels the same way.

    • mrwriteon – I know! One day the three of us will have to sit down and have a good rant about the inability of everyone else in the world to do things the way we do. I mean, don’t they know who we ARE? Silly, silly people!

  4. if they wanted to make the word stand out, they could have just used bold. or italics.
    oh yes, I hate CD’s. have no idea how that one even started. (I also feel my teeth grating for PIN number and HIV virus)

    • VioletSky – Exactly. Quotation marks have an entirely different purpose: to indicate direct speech or a quotation or a title, or to indicate that a word or phrase has a different meaning other than the one usually associated with it. That’s it – and if none of those apply, people, don’t use quotation marks! (And don’t use apostrophes to indicate a plural either. Ever.)

  5. When I saw those quotes I was wondering WTF! I hate useless quotes. Drives me batty.
    Useless quotation marks and the use of the possessive instead of the plural are the bane of my existence. It’s CDs people, not CD’s !!!!