Father’s Day

PG went out for dinner with a buddy on Saturday. They’d been working all afternoon on something to do with the other guy’s car, and when they were done, they headed out for a beer and some food. As guys do.

They ate and drank and then the server, a girl of about nineteen or twenty, came by and asked if they wanted separate bills. PG’s friend said, “No, I’ll take care of it.” I guess since PG had been helping him with his car, he thought he’d thank him by paying for his dinner.

“Oh, that’s so nice,” beamed the server. “You don’t often seen a son taking his dad out for dinner.”

PG is 51. His friend is maybe five years younger. Neither of them look particularly old or young for their age. Nor do they look in any way alike. Dad and son?!? Really?!? Okay, it was Father’s Day this weekend, but even so!

And PG actually TOLD me this story later on Saturday night! I tell ya, I almost cried, I laughed so hard. I’m STILL laughing even as I’m typing now!

But, you know, maybe I shouldn’t be laughing quite so much.

I mean, I still don’t know who the mother of PG’s “son” is, do I?

7 responses to “Father’s Day

  1. …..but her has lovely thighs!!

  2. Further agreement with Jazz. But for PG maybe a bit mortifying.

    • mrwriteon – He seemed to think it was hilarious. I mean, he told me about it, knowing full well that I’d be laughing for days at his expense! Gotta love a man with a sense of humour, don’t you?!

  3. I agree with Jazz. I think the server is probably not a really reliable judge of someone’s age.

    • Kimberly – Probably not. But why on earth would she SAY something like that? I doubt it helped her get a better tip – but I never asked PG about that, so who knows!

  4. According to 20 year olds, anyone over 30 is beyond ancient…

    • Jazz – I think that was pretty much PG’s take on it, too – but I’m not exactly sure because I was laughing so hard.