Cheering

I’m feeling a little under the weather. My throat is sore, my voice is getting hoarse, my head is starting to feel stuffy. I’m not really, truly ill, but I’m still going to take the day off tomorrow and take it easy. No point in going in to work if I’m not 100% – that doesn’t work so well for teachers.

But I did go to Pilates class tonight. I didn’t start to feel crappy till we were almost done. Then my throat seemed to close in a little more and I had to cough a little more. My head felt a little more swimmy than usual from laying on the floor so long. My tummy didn’t feel right.

So as soon as I got home, I made myself a hot rum toddy, on the recommendation of a pal at work who insisted that they were the very best thing when one isn’t feeling well. Hey, I’m not going to work tomorrow, I can drink tonight.

I’m on my second one now.

My throat may still be scratchy, my voice hoarse, my head stuffy and swimmy, my tummy a little off. I could be feeling much more awful than I was earlier today.

The thing is, I just don’t care now.

Cheers and santé!

4 responses to “Cheering

  1. It might not make you better, but at least you’ll be feeling no pain. Cheers!

  2. Amazing how the toddy renders it all less signficant. Hope you feel better soon.

    • mrwriteon – Thanks. My throat is much better today, but now I’ve got an achy body and low energy, so I guess I’m not done yet.