Let’s get physical …

I’m not spending a whole lot of my time exercising lately. Okay, I gave up on running, but there’s still power walking, the machine circuit at the gym and Pilates. And there are seven days each week to fit those activities in.

Last week? I went to Pilates once. I went for two serious walks. That’s three sessions of exercise in seven days. Not good enough, not at my age and with my – uh – particular eating and drinking habits. No, I’m not a big fat lush who lays on the couch watching reality TV and stuffing my face with Cheezies and washing them down with the cheapest red wine in the liquor store. But I do have a wonky back that requires regular care and strengthening, and I do have a genetic predisposition to get a little chunky. Also, I’m not 25 any more, so I can’t get away with abusing my body like I used to.

Thing is, I was SOOOO good at building exercise into my daily life not that long ago. I packed my exercise clothes in my car most mornings and stopped at the gym for a workout before heading home at the end of the day. If I didn’t do that, as soon as my dinner digested in the evening, I threw my runners on my feet and headed out for a walk of at least 45 minutes, either solo or with DD. Some days I had the energy for both. Some evenings at home, I attempted real push-ups. I got a little better at them, but I never really got as good as I wanted to be. When I joined the Pilates class, I was thrilled to have more variety in my exercise regime, and looked forward to it every week. I worked very hard at the Pilates moves, and I’m pleased to say that I could tell that my body was getting stronger.

So what’s happened?

I still love Pilates and I still work hard at it. The problem there is the long layoff between sessions. We had five weeks off between the previous session and the one that started two weeks ago. That’s an awful long time. I lost a lot of the ability and strength that I had gained since starting Pilates classes back in September. And I don’t really know it well enough to feel competent doing some of the movements at home on my own. So I didn’t. So I’m back, not quite to square one, but maybe square three. Discouraging. But I’ll build myself up again – and lose everything again during the lengthy summer layoff, no doubt.

I haven’t tried doing push-ups for months now. I kinda forgot about them, to tell you the truth. I would still like to be able to do a couple of man push-ups. But I never will if I never try. I’ve got to get back on that. Tonight, maybe?

Walking is still something I enjoy, but life just seems to get in the way. It’s been a difficult year in some ways, what with work-related things like the BC teachers fight against the government and personal things like my mom’s recent stroke. More often than not, I simply don’t have the energy to do some power walking after a long day. Maybe now that the weather is getting warmer and it’s not dark out so early?

I don’t know how to deal with my gym, though. Doing the various machines is fine, once I actually get to the gym. The problem for me is that they’ve started offering more and more classes, like Zumba or “Tush and Tummy”. My gym is small, so whenever there is a class on, the machines are unavailable because the class is right in the middle of the room where the machines are. They seem to be scheduling the classes mostly at 4 or 4:30 in the afternoon, which is right about when I want to be there, working out. On the machines. At my own pace. I do not WANT to do Zumba or “Tush and Tummy”. I want to do the MACHINES. That is why I joined this gym: for the MACHINES. I can do an exercise class in a thousand different locations, and I do just that, in fact, once a week when I attend my Pilates class. My gym also has rather absurd hours: something like 7 am to 6 pm five days a week. Open till about noon on Saturdays. Closed on Sundays. Because I work, there are only certain times that I can actually get to the gym, and they are making it rather difficult for me now, with all these stupid classes. Added to this is the fact that I really do LIKE this gym. It’s small, the people who work there are friendly and funny, it’s conveniently located, it’s not terribly expensive. I don’t want to change gyms, but I may have to.

Or I can just turn into a big fat lush laying on the couch watching reality TV, stuffing my face with Cheezies and washing them down with the cheapest red wine in the liquor store.

Well, not tonight. I’m going out for a power walk now. See you in a hour!

10 responses to “Let’s get physical …

  1. Hmmmm… Cheezies…

    šŸ™‚

    • Nicky – Hawkins cheezies, to be precise. The hard ones. If I’m going to stuff my face with junk food, that’s what it will be, every time.

  2. I try to exercise 5 times per week. I walk every day for about 4 miles and then do another 30ish minutes of aerobic and resistance band stuff too. I actually do the 30 minute workouts with my Wii in my living room. It is amazing what a good workout you can get in the privacy of your own home with no equipment except for a resistance band.

    BTW, exercise is a habit, like most things are, and you need to force yourself to do it for about a month and then it will be so routine you won’t think about not doing it.

    • Kimberly – You have a great system going there! Good for you! And you’re right about exercise being a habit … unfortunately a habit that I seem to have let fall by the wayside. But I’ll get it back. It just takes a little effort.

  3. If it makes you feel any better I haven’t exercised in months.

  4. Even doing three sessions a week puts you why ahead of me! Oops, I really must try harder…

    • Bevchen – But I’ll bet that your lifestyle has a lot of walking built into the day, so you’re probably doing reasonably well in the fitness department. And also you’re still young and can get away with a lot more body neglect than someone my age can! šŸ˜‰

  5. That’s why Max is the healthiest thing that has happened to me in ages. Two dog walks every day, rain or shine; pleasant or shitty. I hate gyms and regimentation. Gyms are sweaty and I don’t like showering in public and flashing my ‘stuff’ around except in front of opposte sex people that might want me to do that. And I balk at having to follow somebody else’s routine. I tried the fat lush thing a number of years ago, but it didn’t work out so well.

    • mrwriteon – That’s how I lost all my baby weight lo these many years ago: throwing the infant in the snuggly and walking the dog twice a day. Hmmm. Maybe I should get that standard poodle that I’ve always promised myself now rather than waiting till I retire?