Running on empty

Running. I gave up. I just couldn’t do it. I just didn’t want to try any more. So I stopped.

I just decided that, at my ripe old age, why would I do something I don’t want to do? I mean, really, isn’t that the point of being an adult? You get to finally do what you want to do, not what somebody else tells you to do (well, most of the time, at least)?

And this running thing, how hard did I actually try? Let’s see: I ran with the kids exactly four times. Four Friday afternoons. Not a lot, admittedly. But I took it as a sign that when stuff came up (Stuff like the BC teachers’ job action. Stuff like Spring Break. Stuff like my mom’s stroke.) and I was unable to run, inside I was thrilled to not have to run. Inside I rejoiced loud and long.

So I just stopped going to the Friday runs. I didn’t even tell any of the other teachers who run with the kids. I simply didn’t show up – and nobody said anything to me. So either nobody really cared whether or not I showed up, or else they did care and were so pissed at me that they didn’t even want to talk to me about it … or maybe the numbers of kids running was dwindling too, so not as many adults runners were needed to help supervise the kids as they ran around the neighbourhood. In any case, it didn’t seem to be a problem that I wasn’t running any more.

And you know what? I’m perfectly fine with that decision. I tried it (okay, pretty half-heartedly, but still!), and I didn’t like it. O – kay.

Funny – this same scenario played itself out many years ago when I thought that I wanted to learn to ski. All the cool kids were skiing, and I wanted to join them. So a girlfriend and I signed up for Sunday morning lessons on one of the local Vancouver mountains. There were six lessons in the set, and by the third one, I realized that this skiing thing wasn’t all it was cracked up to be. For one thing, it was cold! I don’t do well in the cold, and now that I think about it, I probably didn’t have proper clothing for the cold. (I probably thought that long underwear would make me look fat or something.) For another thing, I am slightly pigeon-toed, so keeping my skis straight enough to actually glide on the snow was a lot harder for me than for most other people. I ended up falling a lot, and that was frustrating.

So when I completed the six lessons that I’d paid for, I never went skiing again. And I was happy. I was glad that I’d tried it, but it turned out to not be for me. However, the après-ski scene – well, that’s certainly something that IS for me! Really, who needs to ski when there’s après-ski?

Hmm – is there such as thing as après-run? Maybe I should get into that. I’m almost 100% positive that I’d be much better at that than at running.

12 responses to “Running on empty

  1. So relate to this. I’m trying to run now…converting my walks to half and half and I keep hoping I will feel that endorphin rush all the runners talk about. If not, I’ll join your club and quit while I’m ahead…or behind…or having a big behind…but be happy in good company.

    • wenderina – I really think après-run is a much more viable option than actually running. I should start the lobby to make it an Olympic sport. Maybe in 2016, since the games will be in Rio de Janeiro – major party city!

  2. I don’t see why i would run if walking will get me there, an yes, if i have to run for my life, I’ll die. but then we all have to die eventually.

  3. You really are my sister. I’ve never seen the point of running unless something or someone is chasing me. They say that a good walk is every bit is healthy. I got my running done with when I was a kid. As for skiing, right on. I hated the cold and wet and walking around for hours feeling like I’d peed my pants. Apres-ski is good; just eliminate the ski part. I’d rather be swimming or snorkeling in tropical climes, thank you.

    • mrwriteon – I quite liked running as a teenager,even though I wasn’t the best runner ever, so I’m not really sure why I dislike it so much now. I honestly expected to really enjoy it! Ah well – that’s being an adult for ya!

  4. Après-run! That’s a fantastic idea and sounds so much more fun than running. Honestly, I’ve never understood runners. Or joggers. Everytime I see one, I want to ask them where they are going. Not just “Where are you going?” but “WHERE are you GO-ing?!”. You know? 🙂

    • Nicky – I think all runners look miserable as they run, and the ones I have questioned have all admitted that they hate doing it but they love the feeling afterwards. What kind of person would keep doing something they hate only to feel good after they’ve finished doing it??? That doesn’t even make sense to me. Why not skip directly to the feel-good part? And voila! Après-run is born!

  5. There are quite a few races in my area and they all go down the street past my building. I always wonder what could motivate people to do such a thing time after time. I used to run in high school and then I became a very fast walker. Anger and frustration will make me walk faster. I think I may have been frustrated a lot.

    • VioletSky – I’m a fast walker too, and I do it a lot, so that’s why I thought that running might appeal to me. Ha! I thought wrong! I’m going to stick to my power walks (which is probably faster than I was running anyway).