Timing is everything

My mom called me this evening. That in itself was a bit unusual, as my mother does not make many phone calls to me – or to anybody else, for that matter. Then she gets pissy if I don’t call her every few days. I have actually snapped at her, “Well, if you wanted to talk to me, why didn’t you call me? Are your fingers broken?” To which she replied, just as snappily, “I didn’t feel like calling you, that’s why!”

But she did call me today. And she was laughing.

“I have a really funny story to tell you,” she giggled. “It’s something I did!”

My mom is quite the sports fan, and being the good Canadian that she is, she loves curling. She’s quite knowledgeable about it, though I don’t think she ever played herself. And there is apparently some curling tournament going on right now that she’s very keen to watch on TV. It must be happening somewhere back east, because the broadcast starts at 7:30 am Pacific time. This means that Mom has to get up early to watch, but that’s not usually a problem for her, as she’s always been an early bird. Also, she’s a senior, and as we all know, seniors really don’t sleep a whole lot.

So she went to bed around 10 pm last night, knowing that she’d have to be up and about in only nine and a half hours. She said she fell asleep fairly quickly, and when she next opened her eyes, her bedside clock-radio showed 7:15 am. She jumped out of bed, a little miffed that she might miss the beginning of the curling broadcast. She went to put coffee on, then did her thing in the bathroom. She hurried back to the kitchen, poured herself a cup of coffee, put a muffin on a plate, and took everything into the living room. She turned on the TV, then sat back to sip her coffee, munch on her muffin, and watch some curling.

Except that the curling wasn’t on. She finished her muffin and her coffee, flipping channels trying to find the curling. She simply couldn’t, and she was getting madder and madder. How dare they change the time or the channel on her?!

Then she checked the time on the TV.

It read !2:45 am.

Apparently, it hadn’t been 7:15 am when she woke up, it had been 12:15 am. And there she was, all breakfasted and ready for her day – in the middle of the night!

Right about then, she told me, was when she started to laugh at herself. Really, what else was there to do? Eventually, she did go back to bed, but naturally, she couldn’t sleep, especially after the caffeine hit of the coffee. She ended up taking half a sleeping pill, so she did fall back asleep.

And woke up at … yep, 7:15 am. The real 7:15 am. Just in time to catch the beginning of the curling tournament on TV.

I was laughing pretty hard with her as she told me this story. And then I had a sobering thought.

Is this stuff genetic?

8 responses to “Timing is everything

  1. Yep, it’s probably genetic. So either you’ll end up loving curling or you’ll end up getting up at midnight and having a coffee.

    • Jazz – I wonder if I’ll get to pick? If I do, I’d rather love curling – though I’d prefer to watch it in the afternoon rather than in the early morning.

  2. That has happened to me – I will wake up suddenly after only a couple hours of sleep and feel totally refreshed and ready to face the day – far too early, or too late!
    I thought this was being held out west, I guess I was wrong. I follow the advances but cannot manage to sit through watching it.

    • VioletSky – No, you’re right: I have since been informed that the curling tournament Mom is watching (the Canadian Women’s Championship) is in Red Deer, Alberta. So if they start at 7:30 am Pacific time, that’s 8:30 am Mountain time and 10:30 am Eastern time. And of course, Canadian television revolves around Eastern time, so you people get “normal” event hours and we get to wake up early!

  3. My mother used to do that sort of thing all the time but she, alas, was an alcoholic. So, the phone would ring at 4 am, we’d answer, it was mother who thought it was 4 in the afternoon. Your Mom’s story, however, is quite funny and I can see how that would happen.

    • mrwriteon – Your situation certainly would not have been considered at all funny – and neither would I have considered my mom’s to be so funny, if she had called me when she woke up! (But of course, that would be very unlikely, seeing as how she doesn’t particularly like to phone anyone.)

  4. I’ve been known to do that. I think I need less sleep as I get older and am often more than ready to be up in the middle of the night. Your mom and I would get along well. We could have an english muffin together at midnight.

    • Nora – That was the most surprising thing to my mom, that she was so wide-awake and ready to be up at that hour. So, yes, I think the two of you would have great fun together in the middle of the night!