Not quite right …

Hey, about that new iPhone 4s? You know, the one I loved so much that I posted a photo of the two of us, hand in hand?

Well. The love affair may be over, or it may just have hit a rough patch, but the honeymoon period is definitely over.

There are many things I like about the phone. It looks good, it’s easy to use, it interfaces beautifully with all my other Apple electronics, it fits well into all my purse and totebag compartments designed for phones, I can access lots of useful and fun apps (Fruit Ninja anyone?), I feel so cool whipping it out of my bag to text someone.

But unfortunately, it is a crappy phone.

I can hear other people quite well, but they only hear every other sentence from me. Sometimes. Or the call is dropped completely. Sometimes. I only have two bars of reception in locations where everyone else has five. Sometimes.

I am not best pleased. No, I am leaning closer to pissed off. This is now my only phone, Apple! It HAS to work! Really, if I had to choose, I would choose it to be an awesome phone rather than an awesome toy, which is what it currently is.

I have already gone back to the place from which it was purchased. They have replaced the SIM card for me, saying that what I was describing sounded like a SIM card issue. Immediately my reception was improved (three bars instead of two. Woo hoo!), but the quality of the calls has not changed.

I have checked into the location of cellphone towers for my service provider, thinking that maybe I live too far away from them to get good reception. I do not. There is a cellphone tower within walking distance of my home. Also, PG’s mobile works with the same provider as mine, and his reception is flawless. So it’s not a network problem.

My next step is to get a case for my iPhone. Apparently some mobiles work better when they have cases on them, rather than being naked to the world. I know that the previous model of my iPhone, the 4, had antenna issues that were often resolved when a case was put on them. I haven’t read anything that leads me to believe that the 4s model has the same problems, but it’s worth a try. It will also look good, and of course I am all about the esthetics.

After that, I will be making an appointment with the Genius Bar at my nearest Apple retail store. I will explain the difficulties that I am having and I will ask them to trade my mobile for one that actually works well as a phone. I am prepared to plead. I am prepared to argue. I am prepared to have a temper tantrum.

What I am not prepared to do is to have an intermittently-functioning mobile phone.

8 responses to “Not quite right …

  1. Oh, if you’re going to have a temper tantrum, please let me know so I can come watch. There’s nothing more entertaining than watching one of us “older” ladies having a tantrum. And seeing the person being tantrumed at become very very afraid. As they should be.

  2. I think you have a faulty iPhone and should demand a new one so go ahead and have that temper tantrum right in the middle of the store. It’s really ridiculous that you should even have to have one when they should just give you an new phone. I hope they believe in good customer service.

    • Nora – I think it’s faulty as well – something isn’t working properly with the reception, but only intermittently. I probably won’t have to get too snarly, as everything I’ve read about Apple – and my mobile service provider confirms this too – leads me to believe that they will simply replace the phone without too much hassle. I’m going to give it another week or so, as I’ve just put on its new case and I want to see whether or not that makes a positive difference. But if not, off to Apple I go!

  3. That really sucks, and it’s inexcuable to have that happen. So, throw your tantrum. It’ll make you feel better and, who knows, it might help with the phone.

    • mrwriteon – Tantrums always make me feel better, especially if I get what I want. But I think I’ll start by being firm but polite – it’ll be something new for me! 😉

  4. I am of the belief that these new generation phones are not meant to be used as phones at all. One day you will be laughed out of the store when you suggest that is really what you want to use it for.