Bright, shiny …

In my ongoing long-term quest to improve and beautify my home without spending very much money at all, I have a new acquisition that I’m very excited about. It’s something that I’ve been wanting quite a long time – not as long as new kitchen cupboards, countertops and tile backsplash, which I’ve been wittering on about for several years now, but it’s still been many months in the making.

I had been looking and looking and looking, both online and in person. I had been researching. I had been dreaming of owning this item, but I couldn’t really specify what it actually had to look like in order to please me. I simply trusted that when I saw the one that was right for me, I would know, more or less immediately.

And that’s exactly what happened.

DD and I were out for a walk last November, and we passed a home decorating shop that we hadn’t noticed before. As we went past the display window, I glanced in. There it was. The one that was right for me. I knew it right then and there.

With my birthday coming up and all, DD offered to buy this wondrous item for me, but I refused, as I knew it was out of her price range, her working only part-time and all right now. She then suggested that she purchase half of it and I could pay the other half myself. I thought about it and agreed.

So, a couple of weeks later, closer to my birthday, she and I went back to the shop and bought it. It was placed in an enormous, awkward box that could only fit in my car if the front seat was adjusted as flat as it could get. (As a side note here, BMWs are great cars for driving but actually pretty shitty for hauling anything bigger than a couple of suitcases. Just so you know.) But we got it in and got it home and got it out of the car and into the kitchen.

And there the box sat. For five weeks. Till yesterday. PG, with his amazing handyman skills that are so very much in demand that he has had very little time to do this job for me, finally installed this lovely item, my birthday present from DD.

Look! I now have a sparkly white chandelier above my table! And even though it’s not pink, it is shiny and I love it!

11 responses to “Bright, shiny …

  1. Very pretty! Happy belated birthday!

  2. It was very kind of your daugghter to want to buy the whole thing for you and I think you made a good compromise. Thank goodness that PG is such a good handyman. Everybody can be proud and happy and look at it with joy. Congratulations!

    • Nora – Yes, I think I raised the kid right. 😉 It was actually fairly simple to put the new chandelier in and only took about 15 minutes. Of course, I had no idea how to do it myself, but PG did need my help to hold it up while he attached the various wires. Definitely a joint project – and a successful one!

  3. Appropriate and desired lighting is always worthwhile. We hot rid of the horrible chandelier (really, dahling, you would have hated this one) in our dining room when we redecorated and we’re still in love with the change. And nice choice on your part and happy pending birthday.

    • mrwriteon – I’d also like to change the lighting fixtures in my three bathrooms, but somehow, I’m not as fussy about what to get there and I’ve already spotted a likely contender at the local home reno store. AND I have an as-yet unused gift card for that store, so that’s a win-win situation all round!

  4. oohhh nice. Pink might’ve been a bit much.

    • Jazz – I did see some subtle, tasteful pink chandeliers, you know, and I did consider one or two of them. But none of them grabbed my attention like this white one did. This one was most definitely the one for me.

  5. VERY nice. I approve.

    • Mrs Jones – Even DD approves, and that’s an extremely rare occurrence. Maybe that’s why she was so quick with her offer to buy it for me for my birthday?