Signs of autumn

I have had to come to the inevitable conclusion that it is Autumn in my part of the world. I’m not exactly overjoyed at this. How I wish I lived Down Under right now! If I did, it would be Spring now and I would like that. Spring is my favourite season. Autumn is most emphatically not. But there have been numerous signs of its arrival, too many to easily ignore.

I am finally wearing long sleeves and I have reluctantly put away my sandals in favour of closed-toed shoes. Boots, even. By the way, this is unprecedented in my world, as I have always been a notoriously cold person … body temperature-wise, I mean. I do seem to be somewhat warmer at my – um, advanced – age (okay, I’m close to menopausal! There, I said it! Are you happy now?! Sheesh!), but I still do seem to have lousy circulation particularly in my hands and feet. The fact that I have been perfectly comfortable throughout most of the month of October is actually quite remarkable.

Last week I had to shut the window in my bedroom before I went to bed. It was simply so chilly in there that I didn’t think I’d be able to warm up enough in my bed in order to fall asleep. With the window closed, the room did warm up a bit and I was able to fall asleep pretty well. Of course, then I woke up at about 3 am, gasping in the stuffy air, so I got up and opened it again, then I went back to sleep. Just so you know, my mother always must sleep with her window open, regardless of the temperature outside, so I’m just going to assume that it’s genetic and that I’m becoming my mother in that respect.

And then yesterday I had to put the furnace on the evening. My house was about 15ºC! I had to! I didn’t want to, but I also didn’t want my one and only house plant to die a cold, frozen death. Now my energy bills are going to get higher and higher, just because I have to put the stupid furnace on – and it wouldn’t make a difference even if I opted to just run my gas fireplace. Gas, electricity – they all cost money. And lighting candles just won’t cut it in terms of providing sufficient warmth in my house. I know: I’ve tried.

My garden is all cleaned up, and my bistro table and chairs are safely stowed in the garage. I only did that last weekend, which was the latest I’d ever done that. I really thought that the longer I put it off, the longer I could put off Autumn – and also, some of my boxes still had flowers in them. But alas, my strategy did not pay off. Autumn arrived anyway.

The Autumn rains seem to have hit us here on Canada’s West Coast as little later than usual this year. I actually don’t mind rain too much, except in the Autumn. Then it’s gray and wet and permanently soggy outside. It makes me feel all waterlogged inside, too, which zaps my energy and makes me want to curl up in front of the fire, wrapped in a blanket, sipping hot chocolate. Or a hot rum toddy. Yes, a hot rum toddy. Definitely a hot rum toddy.

And today, along with the rain, were yet more signs that it’s Autumn. The streaks on my windshield made me realize that I need new wiper blades, and I’d better get them VERY soon or I won’t be able to see much of the road ahead of me. And the morning temperature was 3ºC, which activated some little sensor in my car and made this little chime go off and this little warning icon pop up on the screen. Apparently, my car needs to tell me that it’s cold-ish outside, which reminds me that I need to get my winter tires put on. Maybe I can get both jobs done this weekend, if PG isn’t too busy.

DD and I are going out for a walk now. I think I’d better wear my winter jacket.

Sigh.

I miss Summer already.

8 responses to “Signs of autumn

  1. It must have been very cold in your house if it had gotten down to 15C. I turn on the heater when it gets down to 19C. Didn’t you just sit and shiver? I do like fall. It’s the winter weather I have a problem with. So far so good. It’s been fairly nice up to now. I do like my fall clothes.

    • Nora – I didn’t really notice the low temperature that day until I actually sat down for a while – at the computer, of course! I find that as long as I keep busy and moving, I’m fine. We also have individual electric wall heaters in each of the rooms upstairs, so if anyone is chilly in a bedroom, they can just turn the heat up in that one room. It was really the main floor (living room, kitchen, etc) that was cool.

  2. Well, now that you’ve rendered me thoroughly gloomy about the time of year, dear Sis, what are you going to do to cheer me up. I believe you have a sibling obligation therein. Yeah, I’m like you about the fall. I’ve often thought spending fall and winter Down Under would be cool, and then I could come back here for my second spring and summer of the year. It would be an agreeable option.

    • mrwriteon – I like that plan a lot – let’s do it! Especially since in your profession, you can live anywhere. Me, not so much. So you’ll have to support me in the style to which I have become accustomed. Got any problems with that? 😉

      • I’d love to. Do you think PG and Wendy would object to our brother/sister cohabitation? Nah.

        • mrwriteon – I think PG came up with that idea independently of you, so I have this feeling that he would want to be there with us. So we might as well take Wendy too. And then I’m pretty sure Jazz and Mr Jazz will want to visit. We’ll just have to get a bigger house!

  3. I actually like autumn, well the first part, with the dew and the coloured leaves anyway. Once the leaves have gone and you have the bare trees and the smell of decay I go off it a bit. I do prefer winter clothes to summer ones anyway so I am happy to move into jumpers and boots and give up the summer clothes. And I too have my bedroom window open at night all year round.

    • Alienne – I like my winter wardrobe much more than my summer one too, so I’m not quite sure why I dread the changeover as much as I have these past few years. Maybe I just don’t like my cold weather clothes enough, so I should just go out and buy new ones. That might help!