Twilight zoning out

Okay, if I knew how to put music on this blog, I would definitely put the theme to “The Twilight Zone” on it right now. Something weird has happened, and it’s creeping me out and I’m quite sure it has something to do with supernatural powers.

Picture, if you will …

It’s Tuesday. I’ve just come home from work. It’s 4:45. DD has been home most of the day. I enter the kitchen to put some of my stuff away there. We chat. I follow her upstairs. We continue to talk about our days. Our conversation finished, she goes into her office and shuts the door. I head into my bedroom to put more stuff away (Yes, I carry a lot of stuff to and from work. Let’s move on, shall we?).

From there, I enter my bathroom. I look down. There are two small pieces of what look to be white scraps of paper on the small blue rug on the floor. I look at the counter. There is another, slightly larger scrap of white paper on the counter. I look into the sink. There is a black circle on the bottom of the sink, about two centimetres in diameter. There is some black-ish dust in the sink.

(By the way, the sink is actually white, not whatever colour has shown up in this photo. I just wanted you to know that.)

So I call DD and show her. We gingerly examine everything. It turns out that the sink enamel is actually chipped right off in that black spot, and the dust and pieces of what I originally thought was paper is actually enamel shrapnel. It looks as if something has fallen very hard into the sink and has broken some of the enamel off. And some of that enamel has somehow flown up and out of the sink to end up on the countertop and on the floor. And there is no sign of any heavy object that could possibly have fallen into the sink. Everything else in the entire bathroom is intact, undamaged. All was well when I last saw the bathroom at 7:45 this morning. And DD was home most of the day and saw and heard nothing odd at all.

You see my point? Is this Twilight Zone stuff, or what?!

Now with a damaged sink.

7 responses to “Twilight zoning out

  1. Ooh, that is weird. Are you sure DD had nothing to do with it? 😉

  2. That is certainly strange indeed. Can further questioning of DD clear up this problem? You could try tickling her until you find out the truth. You’ll have to get a new sink one of these days. This one will never be the same again.

    • Nora – I’ve been researching repairing the sink, and I’m worried that the chip might be too big to fix properly, that my only option is to buy a new sink. Apparently you can’t just leave it, because there will soon be rust, which is not a good thing. But I’d really rather update my kitchen than one of my bathroom sinks!

  3. I was going to try to send Twilight Zone music for you, but didn’t think it would post with my response, so you’ll just have to do with “doo-doo-doo-doo; doo-doo-doo-doo.” There, now that we have the appropriate mood all I can do is hearken to what Sister Jazz said; strange and unpredictable. I have nothing to offer as an explanation but I am all agog to find out once you deduce the cause.

    • mrwriteon – Believe me, I was considering writing “doo-doo-doo-doo, doo-doo-doo-doo” myself! As for the cause, I still have no clue. But I am either going to replace the now-very-ugly sink or paint that chipped spot. I wonder if Liquid Paper will do the trick?

  4. You lead a strange and unpredictable life indeed. How very bizarre.

    • Jazz – What I’m wondering is if your toilet ghost made a cross-country trip to my bathroom. In the Twilight Zone, anything can happen …