Wah, wah, wah

This is not going to be one of my better posts. In fact, you may want to skip it entirely. All I’m going to do is whine in it, anyway.

My back still isn’t right. I still can’t bend properly and comfortably. I can’t sit still for longer than about ten minutes, and I can’t go for a walk much longer than that without discomfort either. At least it’s not that sharp pain any more: it’s more of a dull ache, in my lower back and down my left leg (thank you, sciatic nerve).

I sat (sort-of) around for four whole days. I literally couldn’t do much else. I couldn’t walk much. I couldn’t stand for long. I couldn’t drive. I couldn’t putter in the kitchen or the garden. So I hobbled from the kitchen chair to my desk chair to a patio chair outside – with occasional forays to the bathroom and painful episodes getting on and off the toilet. Those suckers are way too low!

Four whole days of that crap! And although I can move around better now, I’m still not up to going for a proper walk or going to the gym or doing any activity that requires sustained movement. I am so bloody bored, too. I feel like I have wasted a week of my summer – of my life! – and there’s nothing I can do about it, except rest and be patient. Oh – and take drugs. Drugs that work. That’s a trial and error thing, finding those.

I am so not cut out for this! I have a whole new respect for people who live with constant pain or reduced mobility – but I wish I wasn’t one of them at the moment. I just want to go for a stupid power walk, not climb bloody Mount Everest!

Okay, that’s it. I’m done whinging for now. Regular blogging service will resume next time …

… if I’m feeling better.

12 responses to “Wah, wah, wah

  1. I have fairly chronic pain from rheumatoid arthritis and it does indeed suck and can be really depressing when it gets to a high point and seems like it will never go away. I also have two messed up discs in my lower back and that is just awful – you can’t sit, you can’t stand, you can’t lay down, it’s horrible. I did find that when I got over the initial pain and could move around again, that doing yoga really helped. And it seems to have worked some kind of magic spell and I have the horrendous back pain far less now. So, you could keep that in mind for when you are back to feeling like you can move around and not cry.

    • Kimberly – That’s a really good idea, yoga is – thank you! I have several friends who absolutely SWEAR that yoga has improved their lives, so maybe it’s time for me to get on the yoga train. I’m not getting any younger, so I’ve got to do something to better support my back!

  2. I hope you feel better soon! I once sprained my back and was out of commission for 6 weeks!! It totally sucked and I was bored out of my mind, except when I was stoned out of my mind on Percocet.

    • Nicky – I almost wish I could say that I sprained my back because then there would be a reason for being in pain. This random wake-up-in-the-morning-oh-shit-I-can’t-move-without-great-pain stuff that I have going on is stupid! I’m going to the doctor next week to whine and ask for x-rays, so hopefully we can get to the bottom of this. Finally.

  3. I used to have back pain issues and I know how debilitating they can be. They really do cripple you. I found that manual therapy helped me a lot and walking as much as possible. Not sitting down. It can be different for everybody, though, and what worked for me may not work for you. Good luck finding a solution.

    • Nora – I was told to walk as much as possible, but when that can only be accomplished in an odd hunching stance, it’s quite tiring and then I have to sit down to rest. It was also suggested that I lay flat on my back on the hardwood floor – but I couldn’t get down there and then back up again! The only position I have found that is relatively painless is on my side in a fetal position (preferably in my bed), so at least I am able to sleep. Oh well. The worst is over, and I am certainly better than I was!

  4. You poor thing; would a visit to your chiropractor help? Two members of my team have long term chronic back problems and I do not know how they keep going – as you have found pain relief is very hit and miss. You’d think by now the medical profession would have found something effective and reliable. It was quite funny when one of them rolled in as high as a kite one day last week, clutching the wall for support and giggling. She had some new tablets, and had driven in immediately after taking them, with no warning from her doctor that they were so strong!

    • Alienne – I always head straight to the chiropractor when my back acts up, but this time, it didn’t seem to help much. She did massage and stretch me, as well as adjusted my back and neck, and although she said my body had “moved beautifully”, I’m wondering if maybe this time it wasn’t just a misalignment. The idea of strong medication sounds pretty good to me right now, though, even if I end up higher than a kite!

  5. I too have had back issues periodically and so I sympathize and empathize. It’s rotten. Your comment about using the toilet is highly apt and there is no way around the discomfort one faces while tending to that need.

    The last time mine was really bad I got laser treatments from my physio and I actually found that quite effective.

    God speed to you, dear sister and may you be back to your cherished realiteis soon.

    • mrwriteon – Laser treatments, huh? I’ve never heard of that. If I can ever get through to my doctor’s office to make an appointment (another frustration!), I should probably ask her about them. Thanks for the suggestion!

  6. Poor dear. I had back issues before and I know how frustrated you feel.

    • Jazz – I do not do immobile well at all, as I discovered when I broke my foot ten years ago. Still, this too shall pass …