Two weeks later …

So – about the bird nest in my hanging basket at my front door … I’m a little worried. There doesn’t seem to be any action there at all. Even the mother finch hasn’t been around for a couple of days. I saw and heard her chirping up a storm while sitting on the fence two or three days ago, but nothing since then. Either the babies had already hatched and had left the nest during the past two weeks without me noticing (I may not be the most observant person in the world, but THAT I would have noticed, I’m sure), or else something happened to the eggs and they’re not going to hatch and the mother has taken off to nest elsewhere (sadly, more likely).

What if that “something that happened to the eggs” was ME? What if I watered the basket too much and the eggs DROWNED? I didn’t water much at all, only three times at the most and then just a wee trickle of water until the finch flew out of the basket and nattered angrily at me from the fence. But what if even that was TOO MUCH?

Or what if people coming and going at my front door finally frazzled the finch right out and she gave up and just ABANDONED her nest? That’s not exactly my fault, since if she had asked me my opinion prior, I would certainly have told her to build her nest elsewhere, that my front door is a high traffic zone and not exactly conducive to raising baby birds. Still, although it was a done deal by the time I figured out what was going on, I did intend to make the best of the situation and was actually looking forward to the baby finches (finchlings? finchettes?).

Could a crow or a cat have gotten to the nest? I don’t think so, as I’m pretty sure I would have seen some evidence, like scattered leaves or – gulp! – pieces of eggshell or – bigger gulp! – pieces of bird. I know that’s the way of nature and all, and that it probably didn’t even happen, given the total lack of shrapnel, but it’s upsetting to think about, especially when the action is at my front door.

Regardless, it now appears that I will not be the baby finches’ godmother after all, as it appears that they will not hatch. I may be worrying for absolutely nothing, but I’m scared to look in the basket to find out for sure. Maybe DD or PG will do it for me. I don’t think I have the stomach for it.

4 responses to “Two weeks later …

  1. Apparently lots of nests are “lost” with the eggs never hatching. And I don’t think your’re responsible. Relax and have a look.

    • Jazz – I know, I know, but I just can’t help feeling like I DID something, even if it was entirely unintentional and inadvertent. It’s got to be that old childood guilt complex that my mother installed in me. (But I still really don’t want to look …)

  2. Finding abandonned eggs would be better than finding dead chicks. Anyway, some birds have a habit of nesting over doorways, so I’m sure the high traffic could not be more than, say, a store, or train station.

    • VioletSky – Of course you’re right and logical and sensible (also way more knowledgeable about bird things than I am). And of course, I just need to take a deep breath, have a look, and then I’ll know for sure … maybe tomorrow.