Have we met?

PG and I attended a wedding this weekend. It was an outdoor wedding at a local golf club, and fortunately, the weather cooperated and everything went beautifully. The bride was glorious, the groom dashing (in his tux and Converse runners), we blew bubbles as the newly-married couple went back up the aisle – all was casual and fun.

At the reception, there were plentiful appetizers before dinner and a yummy peachy-orangy punch. The dinner itself was great, with three or four main courses available. There was a candy bar, for heaven’s sake! (Apparently those are very on trend right now, but it’s been a while since I’ve been to a wedding. You can bet that my little candy bag was stuffed almost to overflowing – before the reception actually got started, yet. I didn’t want my favourite candies to run out before I got to them, you see.) About the only downside was that there was a cash bar – which ended up being fine, because it meant that I got to attend a wedding ceremony with a glass of white wine in my hand the whole time. Also, nobody got drunk and loud and obnoxious: it would have been too expensive!

The Vancouver Canucks were playing Game 2 of their Stanley Cup championship series against the Boston Bruins during the proceedings, and the MCs kept us all updated as to the score – that’s how laid-back this wedding was! Some people ducked in and out of the golf club lounge to watch bits of the game on the big screen TV there, but it looked like most people who cared had PVRed the game to watch it later at home, and so didn’t seem to mind missing it live. I don’t have a PVR, but even though PG does, he hadn’t recorded it because neither of us like watching hockey after we already know the score.

Almost every single person giving a speech after the dinner ended up in emotional tears. The bride and groom were weepy, of course. The maid of honour actually sobbed and had to take a break before she could continue her heartfelt speech about the bride, she was so overcome. All three groomsmen gave speeches, and all three wiped tears away as they told us in breaking voices what a great guy the groom was and how much they loved him. It was actually quite touching to see how much all these friends and family really cared about each other. I do cry at weddings, but I’ve never cried over the speeches at a reception until this one.

PG knew a number of other guests (the groom is a friend of his), but I only knew a few other people there. However, as is usual at weddings, it’s pretty easy to make casual conversation with just about anybody at your table, so I did chat with some interesting people … like the woman seated on the other side of PG.

She and PG were having a long, involved conversation, about the state of world affairs or something equally profound. PG really likes those kinds of conversations, but it was a bit unusual for him to find a like-minded person sitting right beside him. They talked on and on, so in between my chats with our other tablemates, I had lots of opportunity to observe this woman.

She looked like she was maybe in her late fifties, and she looked very familiar to me. In fact, I was pretty sure that I knew her from somewhere. I had no idea where, and her name hadn’t rung a bell with me when we had first introduced ourselves. I thought that perhaps she had kids who had gone to a school at which I had once taught, since she had told us where she lived, and I had taught at the neighbourhood school there. Maybe she was another teacher? When she and PG stopped talking enough to breathe, I decided to ask her.

She beat me to it. She told me that I looked extremely familiar to her as well, but she too couldn’t quite recall where she might have met me before. I told her I was a teacher and which schools I had worked at. No, that wasn’t it, as she had no kids. She asked me if I knew one of her teacher friends. Nope, no connection there either. I ventured a thought that maybe we’d seen one another through her job, which was … ?

A parole officer.

DEFINITELY no connection there! Really! I wouldn’t lie to you, honestly!

12 responses to “Have we met?

  1. I once met my mum’s doppelganger. That was very weird. I saw her in Oxford, which was where I was living at the time, and followed her for about twenty minutes thinking it was my mum playing an elaborate hoax on me by not speaking to me.

    Too weird.

    I love the idea of converse trainers at a wedding. Rock on.

  2. I have similar situations crop up now and again where I feel I’ve met people before but can’t place them. Sure enough, I often get the “Yeah, you bailed me out jail about 3 months ago.”

    • koshersamurai – That’s a little weird, too. But at least you actually DO deal with the criminal element somewhat in your job, so it makes sense. We teachers don’t come across criminals quite so much, so for a parole officer and I to both feel that we knew each other from somewhere – well, the only way that’s likely to be possible is kinda impossible! (Does that even make sense??)

  3. PS: Sorry for the editorializing

  4. So you never did find out where you knew her from?

    And I was SO pissed off yesterday with the decision (talking hockey here). You can’t make me believe this was an objective decision when Chara got off without even a slap on the wrist when he decked Pachioretty. God I hate Boston.

    • Jazz – Nope, no idea. Since then, I’m sure she’s been thinking and thinking about it too – but even if she figured it out, we didn’t exchange contact info, so unless she talks to the bridal couple to get in touch with me, I’ll likely never know!
      Also – isn’t it mandatory to hate Boston if you live in Montréal? I kinda thought it was actually a condition to being permitted to move there.

  5. undetermined connections make life ever so much more interesting. I once ran into a woman in a Nanaimo mall whom I know I had met, and her feeling with me was identical, but we could not muster what that connection was. I knew she wasn’t a former student — nor a former wife (hey, it happens). And to this day I do not know, but I do know I recognized her as somebody out of my past.

    • mrwriteon – Have you maybe done time and later been paroled and she was your parole officer? (Just a suggestion! 😀 )

  6. It’s always the quiet, nice ones that you have to watch out for. Obviously you have an exciting past life filled with crime and prison time. LOL

    • Kimberly – And wouldn’t that make for some interesting blog posts?! Now I’m going to have to wrack my brains for something more exciting than my usual drivel …

  7. No, you don’t seem the type for that at all. Unless you lead a secret life.