Look at a map!

PG and I were watching the Masters golf tournament yesterday afternoon. It wasn’t a very nice day here on the Wet Coast, so we had no inclination to head outdoors and get soaked and cold. We spent most of the day eating, drinking, and watching TV. It was lovely, and a nice change.

Anyway, at one point in the broadcast, one of the announcers made some remark about the many golfers in the tournament representing every single continent in the world, except the Arctic and Antarctica.

Excuse me?

Since when is the Arctic a continent? Have they redrawn the world map? Has global warming somehow created a new northern super-continent by fusing a number of the Canadian islands in the Arctic Ocean? Has Greenland perhaps migrated up to the North Pole? Have I missed some major geographical event???

Nah. Thought not.

That announcer may know golf. But I’ll bet he failed geography in high school.

8 responses to “Look at a map!

  1. You know, I’ve read that a large percentage of people can’t find major things on the map, like the Atlantic Ocean. Sad, huh?

  2. Yes, they really should not have tried to compete with the flowers. Fashion Fail.

  3. I was too busy drooling over the lush greens and the pink azaleas to notice any fool thing that was said.

    • VioletSky – Were you looking at some of the fool outfits that some of those golfers were wearing too? Like the pink shirt and green pant ensemble? Sheesh!

  4. I suspect Antarctica would find it hard to produce a native golfer too since there is no grass and the only residents are a few scientists. I can’t see penguins taking it up.

    • Alienne – But if any of those scientists in Antarctica were Scottish, they just might try to golf, don’t you think? I hear they love their golf in Scotland! 😉

  5. Jock announcers are to real announcers as PE teachers are to real teachers. That’s my bias and I’m sticking to it.