Oh, yeah?!

PG and I went to his local pub for dinner. There were only a few empty tables, so as soon as we spotted one, we quickly headed toward it.

It was a round bar-type table, with four tall chairs. Before taking off my jacket and sitting down, I went to sling my purse over the back of one of the chairs. I missed. My purse went crashing to the floor. (Apparently my purse is quite heavy, which would account for the rather loud crashing noise.)

As I usually do when I do something silly, I stood there staring stupidly at the purse that was not where I had intended it to be. A second or two later, from the table behind me, I heard a man’s voice.

“And it was that lack of skill that prevented her from having a brilliant career in the National Hockey League,” he intoned gravely.

It took me another second before I realized that he was talking about me.

I turned around, giggling, and made some lame reply like, “Yeah, that’s for sure!” (I’m pretty witty, aren’t I?) Then I turned back to PG and carefully settled myself – and my purse – on my chair.

PG then leaned in to me, and with a sly grin, said, “I would have thought it was more your lack of size and strength and also the fact that you’re female that kept you out of the NHL, actually.”

Well. Humph.

It’s a lot funnier being mocked by a perfect stranger than it is by one’s significant other.

12 responses to “Oh, yeah?!

  1. Heheh! Woops! Dropping things like that has happened to me on more than one occasion!

    But I have to ask: Did that guy look like a hockey player? If not, stones+glass houses.;)

    • Pauline – Actually, he did kind of look like a hockey player: a rec league player, likely, given that he was in his forties, but he did look fit and trim. But he certainly had a sense of humour, that’s for sure!

  2. Maybe you just value your dental work to much to subject it to hockey? And we all know that no one ever said ‘hey, look at that sexy hockey uniform’, right?

  3. Also, it’s why you don’t give a puck about not having a big stick.

    • murr – Oooh, that’s good! You should have been in the pub, too – I would probably have laughed really loud and long then! And thanks for visiting, BTW! πŸ™‚

  4. This is why my philosophy has become to always laugh at myself … that way if anyone else laughs at me, we’re actually a laughing together. πŸ˜›

    • Quackattack – That’s a good way to be, I think, and I share that philosophy. It’s much less stressful than worrying over every little thing or how you appear to others. Besides, there are a lot of really funny things happening all the time, so I might as well laugh about them!

  5. Your last line re SO and stranger: Exactly.

    • Mrwriteon – I’ll get PG back, though. One day, when he’s least expecting it, I’ll come out with some brilliantly witty line that will astonish and amaze him. It will be so clever that he’ll SO wish he’d said it. I will, you know! I really will! Promise!

  6. That guy? Brilliant comment.

    And now I’m going to sound like your mother: NEVER hang your purse on the back of your chair. Best way to get your wallet stolen. Been there, done that.

    • Jazz – I know, I know. But in my defense, the chair was against the wall, so I thought it might be okay … except for the falling to the floor part.