Preparations

I may have mentioned this once or twice, but I love me a good sleep. I am most emphatically NOT an early riser. I do not function well on only a few hours of sleep a night. I need my rest, at least eight hours every night, and often more. I really love to sleep.

And that’s why this daylight savings crap has kicked me hard in the butt. I have lost an hour’s sleep. Yes, yes, I know I will get it back in the fall, but right now, I am struggling. I simply cannot get enough sleep at the moment.

Since Sunday, when the clocks were put forward an hour, I have been tired. I had a nap on Sunday afternoon (well, okay, I have to admit that I’d had a couple of drinks at lunch, but still …) and I went to bed a bit earlier than usual. I slept pretty well, but was it ever tough to get up in the morning! Monday night, same thing: a bit of a nap in front of the TV, then early to bed, and a good sleep. Tuesday, it was again ridiculously hard to rouse myself in the morning. That night, I again hit the bed early and had another good sleep. This morning, I again had to claw my way to wakefulness with every bit of mental strength I possess … almost.

Surely I should have adjusted by now? It’s not like this is the first time I have ever experienced daylight savings time. In fact, because of my – ahem – advanced age and recent difficulties in sleeping the entire night, losing an hour should be a piece of cake and hardly noticeable at all. But it’s not. I’m finding it more of a challenge than ever this year.

I can only assume that my body has decided to go into Spring Break Savings mode. Spring Break actually starts next week in my school district, but my body has decided that in order to prepare for the extra sleeping time I’m going to get then, it has to start training now.

It’s always good to be prepared.

10 responses to “Preparations

  1. I think DST is the work of the devil, personally. There’s just no need for it and all it does it wreck good sleep hygiene habits or patterns. It’s evil, I tell you! It makes it so difficult to get up on time in the morning for at least 10 days I think. Since I’m in London now, I got to put off the disruption for a couple of weeks. But on March 27 we switch to British Summer Time and lose that precious hour too. I think my body already knows what is coming because I’ve been sleeping horribly all week and am already tired.

    • Kimberly – PG refuses to reset most of his clocks when DST starts, just on principle … which makes it hard to know exactly what time it is at his place. I’ve suggested that he move to Saskatchewan, which is the only Canadian province that doesn’t do DST. So far, all I get are scowls.

  2. I have a love/hate relationship with sleep. I need more and never get enough of it. I wake up in the middle of the night like Jazz and stay up for hours, meaning that I have to sleep late in the mornings. Luckily, I am able to do this, but I’d love to sleep through the night. I would love to get 8 hours of sleep, let alone 10. You are very lucky. I know, you have to go to work!

    • Nora – I don’t always sleep through the night either, which is an age thing for me, I’m pretty sure. So I think I might quite like retirement, because I might then be able to get all the sleep I need: even if I don’t sleep all night long, I’ll be able to catch up during the day. Mmmmm…sleep!

  3. You get eight hours sleep? What’s that like? I can’t remember when I last slept for eight hours in a row. I’m just like Sister Jazz in that regard. I actually never find DST has that much effect on me.

    • mrwriteon- I don’t actually always GET eight hours, I just function better with at least that amount. When left to my own devices, I can go to bed at 10:30 pm and wake up well-rested at 8:30 am. That’s ten hours. That’s heaven!

  4. My problem is more that I wake up in the middle of the night and stay awake for a loooong time. But that has nothing to do with the time change. That doesn’t affect me really since I sleep until I wake up on Sundays so I pretty much just got up a hour or so later than usual.

  5. I was absolutely exhausted yesterday (from what I have no idea) and today, for the third day in a row I slept right through my alarm and was late for work. I understand what you are going through – even though it makes no sense.

    • VioletSky – And we’re not the only ones. I mentioned this to a couple of people that I work with, and most of them said that they are having the same issues at the moment. Okay, fine. But what do we all DO about it??