A slight exaggeration

Well. That was a tempest in a teapot.

At the doctor’s this afternoon, I was hooked up to this blood pressure machine that takes four or five readings in about a ten-minute time span. Apparently, this is better than a one-off reading, since blood pressure fluctuates so much during a normal day. The machine then averages it out, and that’s what the doctor takes as a fairly accurate measure of your blood pressure.

Mine averaged out at 126 over 85. The ideal blood pressure is 120 over 80, with up to 140 over 90 considered to be reasonable.

My doctor assured me that I do NOT have clinically elevated blood pressure at the moment, that I’ve been taking pretty good care of myself and that I don’t need to worry about it. Why I had a reading so much higher on Tuesday, she couldn’t really say, except that I just may be one of those people who need to sit down and relax for a few minutes before a reading is taken. She also agreed that all the things I was dealing with on Tuesday likely came into play to make my numbers so high. But she was very reassuring and I left feeling quite good about my health in general – except for the remnants of my cold and achy back and neck, of course.

So the good news is that I don’t have to quit drinking or salting my french fries yet, and that I can still pretend that I’m only 35! Yay!

8 responses to “A slight exaggeration

  1. I thoroughly blame the fridge delivery for the spike.

    • wenderina – That’s got to be it! I obviously can never buy a new fridge again, just to avoid the delivery – my health demands it!

  2. Whew, you don’t have to quit drinking.

    Well, someone had to say it!

    • Jazz – Believe me, that was a real concern! I’m Ukrainian – we drink. It’s what we do – okay, that and make perogies, but we drink while we make perogies.

  3. Woot for being able to salt your fries!

  4. Woo-hoo, I am very happy for you. I bet you left there with a spring in your step.