Delivery follow-up

So, to follow up on my misadventures with my fridge delivery a couple of weeks ago:

As promised, I did go back to the store at which I purchased the fridge and I had a lengthy conversation with a manager there. He listened, wrote down notes, and made sympathetic noises. He asked me some pertinent questions and assured me that he was going to speak to the delivery company’s manager, that I was NOT treated properly. He even asked me if I wanted him to let me know what the outcome was of this chat with the manager, even if it took a few weeks. I said yes. I was soothed. I returned home happy.

One evening this week, my phone rang. I checked the call display, which said “Unknown number”. Like most people, I usually don’t pick up calls like that, but for some reason I picked up this one. It turned out to be from what was likely the national customer service department of the store at which I bought the fridge. The man on the line wanted to ask me a few questions about my recent delivery.

It was actually in the form of a survey, where I was to rate various parts of the delivery from 1 to 5. Where I rated low, he asked for clarification as to why.

I rated many of the items highly, such as the appearance of the delivery guys, their timeliness, their communication with me prior to delivery. I rated them very low on my willingness to have them deliver an appliance to my home again, my overall satisfaction with the delivery, and the care with which I felt they treated my home – they wrecked my sliding glass door and made no effort to arrange for it to be fixed when they couldn’t do it themselves, after all!

The man who was quizzing me kept thanking me for my candor and willingness to answer his questions, as well as constantly reiterating that he was typing everything I said very carefully and how sorry he was that this situation had developed. These were very obviously pat phrases that he had very obviously been instructed to say at particular moments during a phone call such as the one we were currently having, so I wasn’t exactly thrilled with the level of sincerity after the first three times he repeated the same phrase. Still, my concerns were being noted, so that was okay.

After I hung up, I felt irrationally guilty. What if those two delivery guys were fired because of me? What if this delivery company lost its contract with the store because of my complaint? What if they went out of business because they lost that contract? What if I was responsible for a whole bunch of people not being able to pay their rent or buy food because they lost their jobs?

But what if I said nothing? What if this had happened before? What if it happened again, but something was broken entirely beyond repair or someone was hurt during the breaking? What if this delivery company was actually quite reputable and its manager actually would deal correctly with employees who weren’t doing their jobs properly if he or she only knew about it – or worse, what if the company had a habit of turning a blind eye to complaints about its employees?

I’m still not totally comfortable with complaining about poor service (except in my head, of course), but I am trying to remember that in this instance, I didn’t do anything wrong, those two delivery guys did. And I have the right to voice a legitimate complaint.

Don’t I?

10 responses to “Delivery follow-up

  1. Why be satisfied with poor customer service? Our willingness to let it slide is why I now have to forcefully engage the cashier somehow to get her attention away from her iPhone, why I can no longer tell who works at the store vs. who rolled out of bed and decided to sidle into work with their sweatpants on…and is looking at their iPhone instead of greeting me, and why I feel I need to apologize when I ask for extra ketchup at the fast food restaurant. Seriously? It’s about time we start standing up and saying, “ENOUGH ALREADY”

    • wenderina – You are absolutely right. We don’t need to put up with crappy customer service, and we should always call people on it when we see it. One of the problems that I see, however, is that poor service is practically the norm and is now all over the place, so anybody who cares enough to make a bit of a fuss will quickly run out of energy.

  2. You were completely justified about complaining, they destroyed a piece of your property afterall!
    But it reflects well on you that you care about the outcome for the delivery guys, even if they performed poorly in some aspects. 🙂

    • Pauline – They really were nice guys, and we’d been chatting quite amiably until they damaged the door and told me that it was “just a little tight” but I couldn’t even move the sucker! I almost hope that I never know what happens to them – then I won’t have to worry and feel bad if it’s something nasty like getting fired.

  3. I don’t think you were over the top or unjustified in complaining about poor service. Of course, that said, I share your guilty feelings every time I make a similar type of complaint. Though, recently, I came to the realization, that if I know stuff is done poorly or wrongly & I don’t complain to a manager, then I am now just a part of the problem. So, I’ve started complaining a little bit more and feeling a little less guilty. And of course, I also now write really complimentary letters to managers when someone has done something really wonderful too. I feel better with this balanced approach.

    • Kimberly – I quite like the idea of a healthy balance between complaint and complimentary letters. I have written a few of those letters in the past, but not for a long time. You’re right: like you, I will probably feel better if I do that more often. Thanks for the tip!

  4. I think what you did was absolutely right. You had made a big expenditure and basically you ere treated like shit. If those bozos who delivered your fridge are fired as a conseqence, they should be. There is no excuse for how you were treated.

    • mrwriteon – I think I’m being a fairly typical woman in that I don’t want to cause any upset to anyone, that I want everyone to be happy and everything to be good … which sounds insane, but I think that’s how most little girls are socialized pretty much from birth. Still, I fight against it and I have complained and there’s no taking it back now. We’ll see what happens next.

  5. Yes, you do. Your complaint is rational and justifiable and you have only criticised the bad parts of the service. The delivery men ought to be told that they have to deal with problems that they cause and that they cannot just walk off and leave customers with damaged property in that fashion. If it stops them from treating another customer like that then it is good.

    • Alienne – You’re right, of course. I know I’m being silly to worry that I’m not being “nice” because I’ve complained about something. I also wonder if this would have happened if there had been a man around to deal with the delivery in the first place.