Chiropracticing

I’ve put my back out again. And all I was doing was sitting there at a table with a group of Grade 4 students!

Apparently Grade 4 is really hard on your back.

Thus, off I went to the chiropractor, moaning in pain. It’s really tough to do anything when you have a sharp pain in your lower back every time you move. “Moving” includes “breathing”, by the way.

My chiropractor is a chatty young woman who is supernaturally strong. As she man- (woman?) handled me, she kept up a steady stream of patter, probably designed to distract me from the fact that my spine and neck were cracking like ice with every manoeuvre. When she finished, she casually suggested that I should think about coming in at regular intervals for adjustments, because this seemed to be a recurring problem. She also wanted to see me in a few days just to make sure everything was in its proper place. I took that to mean that she’d basically adjusted me already. I made the next appointment, assuming that it would be a quick touchup.

Ha!

The next morning (fortunately on the weekend), I could move even less, but had even more pain. I wondered if she’d damaged me somehow. I’ve heard some horror stories about chiropractors, and despite the fact that I’ve always been a “oh-that’ll-never-happen-to-me” optimist, I was having serious doubts that morning. It wasn’t till mid-afternoon and a double dose of Advil and a long hot shower that I loosened up enough to find a sitting position that didn’t hurt. Getting up from that seated position was still a challenge, as was rolling over in bed, but I wasn’t thinking that my chiropractor had maimed me for life any more.

Then today I was stiff and sore again, but perhaps a little less. I still couldn’t walk very well, which a few people at work noticed and commented on. One other colleague thought my hair looked cute today, though, so that made up for the comments on my lumbering gait … a little.

I went back to my chiropractor after school and told her how painful the weekend had been. She nodded and, as she started massaging my back, said, “I thought it would be.” She completed whatever it is she does, chatting all the while, then told me that she thought she’d now gotten my back to relax enough that she could adjust the actual cause of my pain next time.

I paid, booked my next appointment, and lurched down to the carpark to retrieve my car and head home. My body was still aching. I was thinking gloomily, Two visits just to relax my back? We’re not even dealing with the real problem yet? Seriously?

Less than ten minutes later, I pulled into my garage. As I grimaced in preparation for getting out of my car, I paused suddenly. My back felt better. Much better. I gingerly got out of the car. Yes, some pain, but nothing like I’d felt half an hour previously. And now I’m sitting here at my desk, typing away, and I do not feel my back throbbing. I can already stand up less dorkily. I can walk in a less robot-like manner. I might be able to roll over in bed tonight without help!

So I guess my chiropractor isn’t trying to cripple me permanently. And now that I trust her again, I think I will follow her suggestion that I come in for regular adjustments. I’d rather give up some money every month that give up my quality of life even for a week once a year. Sensible, no?

7 responses to “Chiropracticing

  1. I won’t comment on chiropracty having (luckily so far) had little need of one. I did see one after a car accident, but in the end I couldn’t tell if he healed me or if it was just time….and I didn’t sign up for the cradle to grave chiropracty they were trying to sell me. Anyway…your post made me think of a recent movie I saw that I loved called “The Answer Man”….chiropracty has a pivotal part of the story….but is not the central theme. Thought you might like it if you haven’t seen it yet.

  2. I am all in favour of seeing chiros when needed. As with Mrs Jones, it was the main thing to get rid of my debilitating migraines. Though at one point he had me coming in every three weeks and I finally had to tell I simply could not afford it anymore and presto, he did something different and I didn’t need to go back every three weeks. But, as I type this, I can feel a muscle spasm in my right shoulder… I mustn’t wait until I am immobile.

    • VioletSky – I’ve thought about the cost too – my gal charges 40$ a visit, which is usually about 15 minutes. My extended medical pays only a percentage of that, and then only up to 100$ total over a year. (My extended health plan sucks. I know this.) However, once a month should be within my budget. It’s these relatively sudden back attacks, necessitating three or four visits within a week that are more costly – and not just in money!

  3. Big hug, my sister, and it is now February so this is your month to get rid of all the shit you’ve been undergoing. Poor you. I have had lower disc problems off and on for years and it is always prompted by stress. Shortly before my 2nd wife and I split I was literally incapacitated for a week. Funnily enough, after the marriage ceased it has never revisited with such a vengeance. I have never been to a chiropractor but have used a very good physio on occasion. February wellness to you, Miss Pink.

    • mrwriteon – Yesterday I would have flinched at the mere idea of a hug, but I’m feeling waaaaaay better today. One more treatment and I just may be good to go!

  4. Oh hell, yes. I’m a big fan of chiropractic and have had it regularly since 1991. The discovery of it prevented me committing suicide from the pain of hideous migraines when conventional medicine (i.e., drugs) did nothing to stop the frequency of the buggers. I actually see a Traditional Chinese Medicine (TCM) practitioner who not only performs chiropractic but also does kinesiology (muscle testing), cranial osteopathy, herbs and acupuncture, so you really get put through it – you feel like a damp rag afterwards but SO much better. Unless there’s something specifically wrong with me, I now go every six months for a crunch – a sort of MOT, if you will. I know it’s not for everyone and finding a decent practitioner is crucial but I find it’s been so worthwhile.

    • Mrs Jones – I had been experiencing rather frequent headaches (occasionally a migraine, sometimes a nasty sinus headache) for a while, which in hindsight, I believe was a sign that my spine was getting seriously out of alignment. If I had been coming in for regular chiropractic treatments, I might never have come to this state. As you say, chiropractic is not for everyone, but I’m going to give it a good shot over the next few months and I’ll see if regular visits are as helpful to me as it’s been to you.