Already?!

So. December has arrived. A week ago, in fact.

I’m not ready.

Every year I feel this way, but this year I’m feeling more stressed than I think I usually do.

I’ve pretty much done my Christmas shopping, though, which is a huge leap in the right direction. I have just a few stocking stuffers to pick up still and that’ll be it. Sounds good, right? Except that not one single thing is wrapped or even organized. I’m not really sure where some of the stuff I’ve bought even IS at this point. I’m pretty sure that I’m going to totally forget somebody’s gift – and it wouldn’t be the first time.

But my house is still so unChristmassy! Mine seems to be the only one in the neighbourhood without any outdoor Christmas lights or decorations or a tree blazing in the window. I’ve hauled everything out of the garage and the boxes are now sitting in the basement. So far, I have only managed to hang up a wreath on the front door. Woo hoo. One lone wreath. Aren’t we festive.

I haven’t done a shred of Christmas baking either. I don’t bake a lot, but I do have four or five standards that must be around at Christmas or DD will melt into a puddle of tears. “M – o – o – o – m – m!” she will wail sadly. “It’s trad – i – i – i -tion!” So I bake to avoid that heart-rending sight and plaintive cry. Also because I like baked goods, especially the stuff I bake once a year.

I’ve been to two Christmas social functions already, though, and have two more scheduled for this weekend. I do have a lovely new Christmas outfit, and I must say that I look quite smashing in it (PG and DD both said so, so it must be true!). All I need is some fabulous, sparkly, new jewelry to accessorize my elegant new clothes – and that is PG’s department. I hope he comes through for me – or else gets me hockey tickets. Both would be good, really.

I’m listening to Christmas music as I type this, the fireplace is burning merrily, and I’ve lit lots of candles. I believe I’m actually relaxed, finally, after a couple of very long and trying work days. I may be regaining my perspective – and some energy.

Okay. Deeeeeep breath. Yes. I might actually be ready now. I might be able to tackle the Christmas decorating tonight, at least.

Isn’t it amazing what a little rum and eggnog does for one’s Christmas spirit?

6 responses to “Already?!

  1. Whaddaya mean you haven’t done anything, my sweet and lovely sister? You’ve done damn near everything. You’ve actually shopped. I haven’t even thought about that yet. The other stuff? It is to laugh. But, I have sent off some overseas cards, and I’ve got you beat on outdoor lights. My seedy little display is out there in its patheticness and uninspiredness. But, I do bet you look smashing in our Christmas outfit, but keep holding out for the jewelry.

    • mrwriteon – To be fair, a lot of my shopping was done when dragged around to various shops by PG who was on a major mission this year “to do Christmas shopping early”. If it wasn’t for him, I’d still be lounging around, wondering vaguely if perhaps it wasn’t time to ask the various people for whom I like to buy if they could supply me with a list of gifts they might like. And yes, the Christmas outfit is indeed a keeper, with or without jewelry. (It better be a keeper: I’ll be wearing it for the next 5 or 6 years!)

  2. Well you definitely beat me out for Christmas spirit. I do put up a tree at the cottage, but since we won’t be there for Christmsas this year that’s a wash. And I don’t do anything in town since we pretty much spend our time at the cottage at Christmas.

    A total scrooge i am.

    • Jazz – Someday I would like to be elsewhere for Christmas, just to experience the NOT doing Christmassy decorating and stuff at home. Let me know how it works for you.

  3. If that’s what it takes to get into the spirit of Christmas, I’ll have a little eggnog and rum too. I desperately need it. I have no decorations up whatsoever. Eggnog and rum sound really good too. It will be a good excuse to have a drink.

    • Nora – Just make sure that DD doesn’t fix it for you. If she does, it’s mostly rum with a bit of eggnog for colour. Not exactly what you need to relax you: her drinks are more like what you need to make you pass out!