Om nom nom …

PG brought me some chocolate milk a few days ago. I’m not quite sure what prompted it, as it wasn’t like I was expressing a huge craving for it or anything, but as a result, I am now sitting here sipping some chocolate milk. I haven’t had chocolate milk for about a million years, probably since I was a teenager, and I’m certainly enjoying this rare treat.

And that’s gotten me thinking about foods I used to love when I was a kid.

My mom was a stay-at-home mom till I was a teenager, and she used to bake a lot. So, one of my favourite food groups was my mom’s home-made baking. To this day, her cinnamon buns are to die for, and she makes awesome shortbread, sugar cookies, date squares, apple pie – amongst other delicacies. She doesn’t bake quite as much as she used to, of course, and although I do make a couple of her recipes, I also don’t bake very often. So, I don’t eat home-made baked goods very often any more. Pity, really, although my waistline is likely appreciative even if my tastebuds are not.

I was also a big fan of cereal. Preferably the sugary kind. I adored Alpha-bits, Captain Crunch, Sugar Frosted Flakes, Sugar Crisp and Crispy Critters (the one with the pink elephants). I must have been a ball of sugar-induced hyperactivity when I was a kid!

Pop-tarts loomed large in my world, too. The brown sugar and cinnamon flavour was my pop-tart of choice for those breakfasts when I didn’t have cereal. Why I would happily eat what amounts to flavoured cardboard and chemicals is incomprehensible to me now, but then – wow! Bring it on!

Chocolate probably deserves its very own blog post, I loved it so much when I was a kid. I still do like it, especially the expensive, rich kind that I very, very rarely allow myself, but as my much younger self, I ate a lot of ordinary 10-cent chocolate bars. (Yes, that’s how much they used to cost. And yes, I am that old. What’s your point?) Aero, Caramilk, Rosebuds, Kit Kat, Treets, Smarties, Coffee Crisp, Raisin Glosettes, Jersey Milk … wait a second, I need to pour myself some more chocolate milk …

Okay, I’m back again.

I did actually love to eat some real foods that weren’t loaded with sugar occasionally, believe it or not: beef stew, poached egg on toast, fried potato pancakes, corn on the cob, bacon and egg (over easy, definitely NOT sunny side up – I couldn’t even stomach the look of an egg done sunny side up), mashed potatoes and gravy, chicken noodle soup, tomato soup with lumps in it (no lumps, no eating was apparently my motto for tomato soup), Kraft dinner slathered in ketchup, pineapple, cherries, strawberries and cream (with a little sugar over top – but just a little!), cinnamon toast, toast with honey (I know, I know – again with the sweet stuff).

And chocolate milk. I really LOVED chocolate milk.

I need to go finish my chocolate milk now. All of it. The whole container. Now. Because I may not get any for another million years.

7 responses to “Om nom nom …

  1. P.S. Pinklea, can you email me-crankybadger@hotmail.com. I have to ask you something. Thanks! 🙂

  2. My husband is a huge fan of chocolate milk! I like it o.k, but prefer Shirley Temples as a non-alcoholic drink.

    Are you looking forward to eggnog? I’ll be buying that soon!

    • Pauline – Oooooh – eggnog! Love it! It’s been in the stores for about a month now, but I refuse to buy it till around mid-December. It somehow tastes better when you put off buying it as long as you can stand it, don’t you think?

  3. Chocolate milk. What fun. I also haven’t had it in years. My mother used to always buy a quart of chocolate milk (back in the good old days when we had quarts) on shopping day. Your reminiscence also gave me a craving for a UBC cinnamon bun, and they were, of course, the best CBs in the known universe.

    • mrwriteon – You got chocolate milk every shopping day?! Wow, your family must have been rich! We only got it once it a while, so it was a real treat for us. And I’m almost embarrassed to admit that despite much time spent at UBC, I have never had one of their cinnamon buns. I have heard of them, though, as they are apparently legendary in their scrumptiousness.

  4. My mom baked a lot too. Her apple pies were the best.