Stuck

This is a first for me.

As you may or may not know, the Vancouver area was hit by a snowfall last Friday night. As you may or may not know, another snowfall is currently blanketing us today, Thursday. Both were predicted, so we should have all been prepared.

Now, my car came with all-season tires. After Snowmageddon in 2008, I bought snow tires. I didn’t buy new rims at that time, choosing instead to pay 150$ to have the snowies installed on my regular rims, then 150$ to have the all-seasons re-installed on my regular rims, then 150$ to have the snowies re-installed … well, you get the idea. And so did I, when I realized that it would be more cost-effective to buy dedicated rims for the snow tires. PG could then change the tires for me when the seasons changed, taking maybe half an hour and costing me maybe a dinner each time. That’s easy to handle, so that was the plan.

The rims were purchased two weeks ago. I had them sandblasted and powder-coated. This apparently takes a while to cure, as the actual powder coating was performed a few days ago. The snowies are currently sitting at PG’s warehouse. The rims and the snowies have not yet met, nor have they been installed upon my car, obviously.

This morning, I was unable to make it up the hilly driveway that I share with a number of other people. I had watched many of those people get successfully up that incline, so I was pretty confident that, with my all-seasons and traction control, I would eventually make it.

I didn’t.

I couldn’t even get going enough to get my damn car back in the garage. Not even with two people helping to push. I’ve had to leave my poor car down at the very bottom of the driveway, in a no parking zone, partially blocking access to someone’s garage. I literally could not get the car to go anywhere, except backwards downhill.

So I couldn’t go to work. I have to take a snow day. Not that that’s a huge problem in the grand scheme of things, of course, but that has never happened to me in thirty years of teaching. I have always been able to get to work, unless the schools were closed due to snow, which has happened maybe twice in all that time. Any other time that weather conditions have been so bad that I couldn’t get out (like Snowmaggedon 2008), I didn’t have to go to work anyway, so I didn’t care. But it’s all caught up to me now, just because I didn’t plan the snow tire thing early enough.

Yes, I am now officially “one of those people”. The dumb ones. The ones who get stuck in the snow because they don’t have snow tires on.

You may now laugh at me.

10 responses to “Stuck

  1. Oh crap! We have a lot of snow now too, but at least it’s flat here.

    I can’t imagine dealing with ice and snow on hills. BTW, I don’t have snow tires either… amazingly, it’s not the law here either.

    • Maureen – You seriously don’t have snow tires?! Hills or no hills, how on earth can you get anywhere without them with all the snow you get there? I’m just going to assume it’s magic …

  2. In the Netherlands we don’t even put on snow tires, though in Germany people have to by law. I think it’s a smart thing to do.

    • Nora – Some provinces of Canada have made that a law as well, but it’s not in my province yet. This is the first pair of snow tires I have ever bought, and I have had a car since I was 18. The winter climate around Vancouver is more rainy than snowy (although we do get some snow that rarely lasts more than a few days) so it’s just never been a necessity. But as you say, it’s a smart thing to do and I will make it more of a priority now!

  3. I would never laugh at you, and I understand your frustration. That’s why my NX (with its all-seasons) is sitting in the garage even as I type and the white shit keeps pounding down even though it was supposed to have turned to rain at this point. Wendy, meanwhile, is out in the SUV and getting around just fine. And sometimes we all need a snow day.

    • mrwriteon – It seems to have turned to rain here in the last half hour, and already it looks like a slushy, soggy mess outside, so be patient, it’s coming your way very soon! (BTW, do you think that this is my payback for having mocked you getting an SUV??? Just speculating … )

  4. Since we got the cottage up north, we put snow tires on during the first week of November. It brings home the fact that yes, there will be winter again this year. Damn.

    But look at the bright side, you’ll have flowers out in February while we’ll still be buried under 5-6 feet of snow.

    Bleh.

    • Jazz – I could live with that, knowing that there will be snow by December every year. It’s mid-November, though, in balmy Vancouver! WTF, snow?!?

  5. I will NOT laugh, I WILL not laugh, I will not LAUGH.
    Actually, parking at the bottom of a ramp, I feel your frustration. Now we have a heated ramp and life is so much easier.

    • VioletSky – The snowplow has since come by, and it cleared a path that I was able to follow pretty much up to my garage, slipping and sliding all the way. So, I may not have been able to go to work today, but at least my treasured car is back in her garage, snug and warm. And it’s still snowing outside.