Stuffed up

I’m sick again. Well, maybe not again, because I’m not often sick, but it feels like it’s again. It feels like I’m always sick whenever I am sick. It seems to be just a bad cold, not the flu or anything like that, but I can still think of better things to do. Even vacuuming would be better than this.

I woke up with a sore throat three days ago, on Sunday morning. I didn’t feel quite right all day, but other than the fact that I couldn’t swallow comfortably, I was okay. Except for the cold sore that was starting on my upper lip. And for the fact that I knew I was getting sick. Which, by the evening, I certainly was.

Before I went to bed, I took a bunch of meds that either didn’t work or else just made me get up to pee every hour all night long. Either way, it didn’t make me feel any better on Monday morning. Still, I dosed myself up again, little trouper that I am, and trundled off to work. I had a meeting in the afternoon that I absolutely could not miss, especially since I had been the person who set it all up. I got through the day well enough, popping my cold pills at regular intervals, but by the time my meeting was over, so was I. I was done.

I basically did nothing at home all evening, other than sip some soup. I decided there was no way I was going to work the next day, so I posted my absence on the requisite website. I took the night version of my cold medicine, propped myself up on three pillows, and was asleep by 10:30.

I woke up once to go to the bathroom (but just once! Progress!), then fell back asleep till 9:30. I had slept for 11 hours! I felt better today and had more energy, but I’m still quite stuffed up. The cold has now settled in my throat, and I’m coughing. Oh – and my voice sounds like a small nasal foghorn. But at least the cold sore has halted its growth and has already scabbed over. Very alluring, let me assure you.

It’s only 8:30 PM now, and I’ve done nothing more taxing than play on my laptop and plan my Thanksgiving Day menu. But I’m exhausted. I think I’m going to need another day at home. I know I’m not contagious right now (that would have been before I had any actual symptoms, I think), but I just don’t have enough energy. And to teach, believe me, you need energy! Also, you need a firm and clear voice. Which is not my voice right now. Unless “nasal” and “stuffed up” are synonyms for “firm” and “clear”.

No? They’re not? Thought not.

So if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to swallow a couple of pills and crawl into bed for 11 hours or so …

15 responses to “Stuffed up

  1. Oh no! I hope you’re feeling better now.

  2. I just hate being sick. It really makes you appreciate feeling well and full of energy. For some reason, since I’ve gotten older, I get sick a lot less often. It can be the pits being older with aches and pains but I have more energy and feel great. There has to be something to compensate for the wrinkles. Hope you are better soon.

    • Linda – I know, I don’t get sick too often any more, but when I do it can be pretty bad. I’m feeling almost completely healthy now, though – only occasional coughing fits or nose-blowing extravaganzas.

  3. Feel better soon.xxxx

  4. I just got over the flu, so I feel your pain! Get well soon! 🙂

    • Pauline – Thanks. You had quite the bout of illness, didn’t you? Fortunately, this is just a cold, so I should bounce back a bit quicker than you were able to.

  5. Poor baby. Here’s a hug. I don’t need to worry about catching it because last week I had the same thing and am still feeling a bit like (to use the colloquialism) shit. It’s a nasty little bugger and my symptoms sound very similar to yours, right down to having to get up to pee 87 times at night. My symptoms are largely gone, but the fatigue hasn’t and I find afternoons kind of a write-off in which I feel a bit stunned. No, that is not normal for me.

    • mrwriteon – Yeah, that fatigue. It would be nice to have my normal energy level again. I hope it doesn’t take a week, though. I’ve got a Thanksgiving dinner to produce this weekend!

  6. Awww poor you. Just tell me cold viruses can’t circulate through the internet – I’m going on vacation and don’t need a cold.

    • Jazz – Last I heard, it wasn’t cold viruses that circulated on-line, so I think you’ll be just fine. And even if you did catch a cold on vacation, it’s still better than being at home with a cold!

  7. Poor you, you must get better soon and yes, you must enjoy the turkey and pumpkin pie.

    • Nora – Thank you. I do feel well enough today to go out and buy that turkey and pumpkin pie that I hope to enjoy on the weekend so I think the worst is over now.

  8. I hope you feel well enough by the weekend to enjoy the turkey and pumpkin pie.