Can’t pick your neighbours …

I skipped a meeting after school today. I thought it didn’t concern me. I was wrong. It did. And now I’m hooped.

The meeting was to decide which teachers get which classrooms next September. Since I moved classrooms last year, and since I don’t enroll a regular class of kids anyway, I’m not going anywhere. Besides, my classroom is actually the size of your living room, probably. With little storage space. It’s more of an office. It’s suitable for my job, because I’m not a regular classroom teacher with 25 little brains to fill with information each day. So. I’m staying put now.

But there were some decisions made today about who is moving to different classrooms. There was a process developed that will be followed in the future in order to determine who gets which classrooms, based upon factors such as how long the teacher has been in the school, what language they teach, and the age of the kids they teach. Grade 7 kids take up a lot more room that Grade 1 kids. Grade 1 kids need to be close to bathrooms. There should be a mix of primary and intermediate aged kids in each wing of the school. French and English classrooms should also be mixed, rather than having a French ghetto and an English ghetto.

All of that makes perfect sense to me. I wholeheartedly agree.

Except I have learned that right next door to me will be Mr Loud-and-obnoxious. He is EXTREMELY loud. Even when he thinks he is being quiet he is actually loud. I think he breathes loudly. I also find him rather self-absorbed and full of himself, which makes him obnoxious to my mind. He does have a good sense of humour, I’ll give him that, and he has made me laugh out loud more than once this year. But he does not stop. It’s like he figures one funny, cute comment is worth at least twenty-nine more stupid, annoying comments, and there are a lot of people on staff who seem to agree and they keep laughing and egging him on.

So that’s not good.

But it gets worse.

On the other side of me will be Ms Slow-and-boring. This is a woman who moves at about the speed of – oh, maybe a glacier melting in January at the South Pole. Not only does she move that slowly, she speaks and thinks that slowly. It is incredibly frustrating to talk with her, because just to say hello in the morning takes about fifteen minutes of your time … and she is also boring as hell! She has next-to-no true conversational skills and will natter on – slowly, of course – about one thing and another, none of which have anything to do with the fact that you’ve just said “Good morning”. She is totally oblivious to the fact that you have a stunned look on your face and you have been trying to back out of the room the entire time. She repeats herself, rambles, doesn’t listen and just keeps talking if you try to respond to what she has just said. She just doesn’t get social cues, and has no clue how boring she is.

So, as I say, I am hooped. I am stuck, not between a rock and a hard place, but between two people that I would rather not be stuck between. I can’t do anything about it now, and I probably couldn’t have done anything about it if I had attended that meeting earlier today, either. I mean, what would I have said: “Please don’t put Mr Loud-and-obnoxious or Ms Slow-and-boring in the rooms next to mine because they drive me mad”???

But then again, maybe they were both at that meeting. Maybe they both argued against moving next to me: “Please don’t put us next to Pinklea! She’s just too hard to get along with!”

6 responses to “Can’t pick your neighbours …

  1. Nora – You’re right: I’m just anticipating the worst, and I do have a lovely summer to look forward to first. Really, a trip to Egypt should keep me happy for many months afterwards!

  2. I wish you the best of luck the coming school year. I hope none of it will be as bad as you anticipate. Don’t let it spoil your wonderful summer.

  3. This makes me glad I don’t work anymore. There’s always at least one person that made work unpleasant. I pretty much like hanging out with my husband, thank God. Where is this award you were talking about? I don’t see anything. Is it just me?

    • Linda – Oops, I guess I forgot to hit “publish” when I wrote the award post! I’ll go back at do that right now – sorry for the confusion! It’ll be there, I promise!

  4. Poor you. You are between the devil and the deep blue sea. Come over to my place. I have given you an award.xx