Pumped!

I just had my second measurement and weigh-in at the gym, and I am awesome!

Remember, back last fall, when I was whining about being unable to lose three and a half more pounds? Well, I have now done it! Six months and a bit later, and I have finally lost it! And I have lost it by not really trying. Cool, huh?

This translates to my percentage of body fat going down from 34.2% to 31.8 %. Is that good or bad? I don’t know, but at least it’s going down. My bust measurement has remained the same (sadly, all this muscle that I’m building is not helping in that area), as has my waist. The lack of change in my waist was a bit of a surprise, as I do feel like there’s less of me there, but oh well, next month’s measurement will come quickly enough. I have lost an inch from my abdomen and hips – and those I have very definitely noticed! My thighs are down a quarter-inch, which, believe it or not, I have also noticed. I think it’s something in the way my pants fit now.

But of course, I went into this mainly hoping for killer arms. And they are coming! I now have noticeable triceps when I tense my arms, and my biceps are slowly becoming visible. I have lost a grand total of one and a quarter inches from my formerly wimpy, somewhat pooky arms! That must have been pure flab, and through some hard work on my part, it’s now disappearing!

And the lone man push-up that I’m aiming for? No great progress this month, unfortunately. I can still only do them halfway down, though I can do more than three now. I’m up to five in a row at this point, so I guess that’s some progress, just not quite where I want it to be yet.

(But I must say, my new carpet sure is nice to practice on!)

5 responses to “Pumped!

  1. You are awesome. And to add to your overall awesomeness, there is an award for you over at my blog.

    • Pauline – Thank you! I must say, I am pretty proud of myself! Now, if I could only get to the point where I can do a full man push-up …

      Mrwriteon – Losing weight and inches is fabulous, that’s true, but it cannot truly compare with getting an award! You’ve just made my day – thank you so much!

  2. Woo! Congrats! You rock! 🙂

  3. VioletSky – I empathize totally: after six weeks of the gym routine, I had actually put ON two pounds, as I recall. Eat chocolate, yes, but don’t give up! Changes will happen, if you persevere – I can vouch for that!

  4. Good for you.
    I’d be happier for you if I were also sharing in the loss. Sadly, after 6 weeks, I have not lost an ounce. No changes. Am feeling very depressed.
    Really, really wanting to eat some chocolate…