Windy

It’s windy as all hell outside right now. It has been for several days and nights already.

That’s because it’s November. Every November it gets extremely windy in this part of the world. It’s not especially cold, and it is usually accompanied by rain (though not always), but that wind is horrific.

I’m afraid of the wind. It’s so noisy and, well, windy. My bedroom is on the second floor, at the southwest corner of my house. The wind generally comes from the southeast. It flies with gusto around the corner of the house, past my flimsy window, rattling all kinds of things. It makes car alarms go off. It makes anything in the yard thump aggressively against the fence. It makes strange bumping noises on the roof – and there’s no way I even want to speculate what that might be.

I also have three tall cedar trees along the fence in my postage-stamp-sized back yard. Now I understand that such trees are built to withstand wind and rain and heavy snow, but it still worries me to see those trees being buffeting around so strongly. What if one got ripped right out by the roots? Would it crash into the house – or more specifically, into my bedroom window? Yes, the middle one is secured by a sturdy yellow cord attached to a couple of thick posts driven into the dirt, but when I peek out the window to see what’s happening, the tree still seems to be tilting alarmingly to the side. If it fell onto its neighbour, would that tree also crash to the ground? Would I have to pay for the clean-up?!

So far, my power has not gone out, but that depends on where you live. I’ve been lucky. I know people who live scant blocks away from me whose electricity has been cut in this wind. I think it’s just a matter of time here. I don’t have a battery back-up for my clock radio, either.

Sigh. It’s going to be a long night …

6 responses to “Windy

  1. XUP – I didn’t know that about the leaves on trees either. Now I can worry over how this scientific fact applies to my cedar trees in the wind. But I guess all bets are off in a hurricane.

  2. What I found out during Hurricane Juan in Halifax was that as long as the trees no longer have leaves, they should stay rooted. BUT, leaves will catch and trap the wind and pull the trees down. On our block the wind completely uprooted and toppled 12 giant maple trees (4-5 stories high) that had been there for decades, if not longer. Now THAT was a scary, windy night.

  3. Our electricity goes out more often than it should, not from the elements, but because there are too many houses on one grid. (Gotta love poor suburban planning.:p)

  4. Tall trees catch a lot of wind, that’s a saying here in Holland and I guess it really applies to you literally now. Maybe you should move temporarily to the sofa to sleep.

  5. Let your imagination go wild, Pinklea!!
    Love that little graphic at the end.

    Oh, and the possibly related posts includes “do not climb out the window”. Good advice.

    • VioletSky – That’s my problem: too much imagination! Every thump is some new and unforeseen disaster. I was almost afraid to look outside this morning. (But when I did, all was calm, no pieces of buildings, vehicles, or even trees were strewn about. The next windstorm is due to hit this afternoon, though.)

      Irene – That’s probably not a bad idea. I have a super-comfy sofa in my TV room, which is in my basement. I’d be perfectly safe there and I wouldn’t hear the wind howling.

      Hannah – I lived in a neighbourhood like that once too. It’s so annoying! Where I live now, though, the lights have been flickering, but there’s been no power outage yet. But as I told VioletSky, the next windstorm is on its way, so I’ll keep the candles ready.