So wordy …

I’m a word person. I like words very much. I seem to learn languages very easily. I like to read, I like to write. I like to do word search puzzles, but not crossword puzzles. I like to talk. Probably too much.

imagesI also have a list of favourite words. (I bet you don’t have a whole list of favourite words. Actually, there are a number of websites devoted to favourite words, so maybe you do.)

The words on my list are words that I simply like. I like the sound of them, the way they trip off my tongue, the musicality of the syllables. I don’t particularly care what they mean, and I don’t particularly use them a lot in my everyday speech or writings. I just like these words.

In no particular order, here are some of the words I like:

ubiquitous
undulate
sibilant
willful
paleontologist
serendipity
plethora
mellifluous
colloquial
quintessential
anomaly
discombobulate
effervescent
entomologist
loathe
heinous
facetious
onomatopoeia
lugubrious
pontificating

Do you have any favourite words?

13 responses to “So wordy …

  1. Katyboo – You definitely mean “skink” and not “skank”, right?

    XUP – Yes, I noticed that many of my words have “l”s and “r”s. I wonder if it’s the French influence: it’s one of the romance languages, like Spanish, so there’s a lot of musicality and rhythm and softer sounds to the words.

    VioletSky – Affricates. I remember that word from my university phonetics and linguistics courses. So you’re an affricate lover, are you?

    mrwriteon – I’m decent at crossword puzzles and also at scrabble, but I just don’t really like them. I suppose I like having the words already there for me instead of having to discover what they are or to put them together. No, actually, I’m just lazy.

  2. I think along with your undulate I’d add ‘ululate’. I like the way it flows. Love your list. Aside from all the assorted things I’ve done in my life I was also once a secondary English teacher. I find it interesting that you don’t like crosswords. I love them and am reasonably good. Yet, I don’t like scrabble and am lousy at that. Good blog.

  3. Right, I’ve now looked up ‘affricated’. I think I get it. Very astute observation, XUP!

    I have never been able to master the alveolar trill (rolling your rrr’s) and had a lisp as a child so stumbled over the ‘th’ and ‘s’ and the placement of the ‘l’ in certain words (philately, for example). The ‘k’ sound, I had no problem with. In fact, would be my favourite.

  4. Interesting that your favourite words are mostly all very lingual – lots of tongue rolling, lots of l’s. Violetsky’s on the other hand are very affricated. I don’t know that I have favourite words. I’ll have to think about it.

  5. crayon, porcupine and skink.xx

  6. Oh yes, I have a list.
    And a post sitting in my drafts somewhere…
    mellifluous and discombobulate are favourites as are:
    staccato
    spelunking
    crinoline
    ephemeral
    defenestration

    There’s also a town in Scotland, Crianlarich, which for some reason I loved the sound of, though it turned out to be a sad railway junction with nothing particularly beauteous about it. I also moved to a similarly fun sounding placename called Penetanguishene, which is more commonly just called Penetang. It is famous for having a prison for the criminally insane. Again, a disappointment, but fun to say.

    • VioletSky – I LOVE “spelunking” and “ephemeral”! I must add those to my list. It’s funny: most people’s fave words have lots of syllables. No one likes one-syllable words like “cup” or “short”, do they?

  7. akimbo – and I have no idea why.

    • wenderina – Ours is not to reason why, ours is but to – um, say it and enjoy it? (Doesn’t rhyme, but I’m sure you get the gist of my meaning!)

  8. I did a favourite word post a long time ago. Serendipity is one of my favourites.

    • Jazz – I knew you’d be one of those people with favourite words! I will have to check your archives so I can read your list. Do you remember when you wrote that post?

  9. unnecessarily, undoubtedly, irreparably, irreconcilably, undeniably, irretrievable, unspeakable, irrefutable, instantaneous.

    Those are some of them, anyway, interestingly enough.

    • Irene – Oooooh – I like the sound of “irretrievable” and “irrefutable” in particular. Their syllables just roll off my tongue – and there’s a lot of syllables there!