Bill, please

I sat down last night with all the receipts and various other bits of paper that I had accumulated on our recent trip. I save everything because I will (eventually) get prints made of the photos we took and I will (eventually) create a scrapbook of the trip, complete with captions for the photos and adorned with ticket stubs and brochures and anything else appropriate that I had collected. I’m not a true scrapbooker (those people are weird and obsessed!), but what I make could be considered a more laid-back, cheap imitation. I’ve done this for all of our trips, and they are lovely souvenirs. They are time-consuming to create, however, which is why I haven’t really started yet.

imagesAnyway, while I was sifting through all that paper, I thought it was time to figure out roughly what the cost of the trip actually was. I also do this after every trip, because it helps me for planning and budgeting the next trip – and there is always a next trip! (I’m just not sure where or when yet.)

I didn’t have exact figures in Canadian dollars for everything, except airfare and our mini-tour. There were a few more items for which I had prepaid with my credit card, so I checked on-line to see what those prices were when converted from euros to dollars. I used a bit of guesswork to change a few other expenditures to Canadian currency. I also didn’t have entirely accurate numbers for our daily living costs (food, entrance fees, souvenirs, etc), so I just used the figures from my bank account from each time I withdrew money while we were away.

I added it all up. Then I checked my provisional budget that I had drawn up while I was planning the trip, sometime late last spring. I was actually below that budget. By 500$.images-1

I am a legend.

I may not comprehend much about math, but when it comes to money, I am simply a legend.

You may want to hang out with me.

12 responses to “Bill, please

  1. Um hell ya…

    I am too scared to actually add up all the bills after a trip… I just want HAPPY memories to scrapbook (yes, I AM weird and obsessed, how did you know???)

  2. Me too!
    I have been ridiculed to death by my obsessive record keeping when it comes to spending money on holidays. Never travel with a non-budgeter – far too stressful. I have jars of extra change that was not spent on holidays so that I always have coins for the next trip until I get to a bank (I now have a bank account in Scotland for my every-five-years-trip). I’m collecting US coins at the moment… (I may even have some Australian money left over)

    • VioletSky – If you have a bit of Australian money kicking around, you are DEFINITELY joining our happy group when we head to Australia. But remember: no tours, we have to do it on our own.

  3. Excellent! I definitely want to hang out with you 🙂

    I’m pretty good at sticking to a budget when I have to. I just wish I didn’t have to.

  4. Irene – Yes, we pretty much did everything we wanted to and if we felt like buying something, we did. We certainly had a good time, so the trip was an all-round success, I’d say!

    XUP – Sure you can come! We’ll go to Australia and only come home when the money runs out (should be a LONG time!).

  5. Can I come to Australia, too? I do the same thing as Jazz. I like to know exactly how much I’m spending along the way — no surprises when I get home.

  6. Good for you! It feels so great to stay under the budget and not to have spent money needlessly. Especially if you also had a good time and you don’t feel deprived in any way.

  7. Hey Pinklea – thanks for stopping by my site. I liked this post, but if it were me…I would surely have forgotten some purchase or expense and having thought myself a rock star budgeter, would plan the next trip and then the outstanding bill would arrive tipping the scales to $500 over instead of under. But hey, that’s just me.

    • Wenderina – I know … it seems too good to be true, doesn’t it? But it’s been almost three weeks, I’ve checked everywhere I can think of in all my papers and on-line, and I haven’t found anything yet. So maybe the universe is smiling on me this time? (And thanks for returning the visit! 🙂 )

  8. When I travel I usually just change however much money here for souvenirs, some meals, incidentals and such and see that it lasts. I’ve rarely ended up with much unplanned use of my credit card.

    We should travel together.

    • Jazz – Sounds like you are a rock star with your money when travelling, too. Where should we go? I’ve never been to Australia …