Do not use after expiry date

I arrived at work on Monday morning, parked my car, then walked through the parking lot to get to the front door of the building. As I walked along, being the car enthusiast I am, I checked out everyone else’s vehicle. I do this every morning. If someone has even washed their car, I will notice. I notice cars that are parked less than perfectly. I notice when someone who always backs into a spot has nosed in for a change. I notice when someone is driving a different car than the one they normally drive. I am strange this way.

So, it’s not that unusual for me to notice a vehicle that has never been in the parking lot before. Of course, at a school, there are always different cars on different days: substitute teachers or secretaries or special education assistants, teachers who only teach a few days each week, teachers who teach full-time but at different schools on different days.

But this rather beat-up gray Ford Windstar mini-van (the scourge of North America, mini-vans are! But I’ll save that for another post.) was not only new to our parking lot, it also had an expired insurance decal on its license plate. It had expired on May 31, 2009 and Monday was June 1, 2009. All insurance decals that have been issued in BC since January 1, 2009 have been lime green. The decal on this van is orange, marking it very clearly as last year’s.

I don’t know whose van this is! I’ve been discreetly asking around, but it’s been three days now, and I still haven’t been able to find out! I don’t want to embarrass anybody by making an announcement over the PA system: “Will the idiot who’s driving the dirty, old, gray Ford Windstar mini-van – which is the scourge of North America, by the way – PLEASE check the calendar and renew their insurance?! If you can’t afford insurance, take the bus, you moron!”

I’m just trying to be helpful, after all.

7 responses to “Do not use after expiry date

  1. XUP – I’ve seen that too. Do these guys actually believe that this looks good?!?

  2. I had to laugh at Jazz’ comment — it’s so hilarious when guys try to pimp their mini-vans like that. I’ve even seen a guy with spoiler on his pick-up truck. Too mental for words.

  3. Hannah – It boggles the mind sometimes to look at how some people maintain (or more accurately DON’T maintain) their vehicles, doesn’t it?

    Jazz – I would like to ban mini-vans entirely from the planet. SUVs too, unless they are actually used off-road. Which we know very rarely happens.

    Maureen – I may be forced into making that kind of announcement. I made one today timidly requesting the owner of a gray Ford Windstar to please come to the office. Nobody came. Time for drastic action, I think!

    Gossamer Woman – When I was a kid, there was no such thing as a mini-van, and families with 3 or 4 kids survived just fine with an ordinary car. Why can’t we go back to that? It worked well!

  4. Mini vans are such poor excuses for vehicles, they really ought to be banned, except that I think you can get a lot of children into them. Here we have a family with three little kids and a fourth one on the way that have a mini van, but I don’t know where they are going to put the fourth child. Maybe in the luggage area.

  5. Ahahaha! I would LOVE see their expression if/when you DID make that annoucement!

  6. I hate mini vans.

    I also laugh when I see a “sport” version with a spoiler and figure some poor dad hasn’t yet come to terms with the fact that that portion of his life is OVAH!

  7. LOL. So you can’t make announcements like that? Bummer.
    I spotted a guy on the highway who’s rear window was busted so he stretched a garbage bag over it instead. Yeah…some people should really rely more on public transit.