Oh, crap

DD and I were enjoying a beverage outside this weekend. It was a warm, sunny day – and heaven knows, we haven’t had a lot of those around here lately. I was putting off starting dinner. DD was telling me all about the new laptop she’s planning to buy. The baby birds were screeching …

Oh yes, the baby birds. We seem to have a nest of some bird or another in one of the gutters on the roof. (Not the leaking gutter. This is a different one. You know: different gutter, different problem.)

These baby birds, like all baby birds, are noisy as hell. They are noisy as hell starting at 4:30 am. I know this because they have woken me up two mornings in a row with their screaming for food. I suppose I didn’t notice them prior to this weekend because they were too tiny to make much noise. Quite honestly, I hadn’t even noticed that there even was a nest up there till this weekend. Now I know.

So we watched the mother bird being run ragged to feed her progeny. Back and forth she flew, worms dangling from her beak. As soon as she would alight on the edge of the gutter, about half a metre away from the nest, the screeching would begin. She would dance around a bit, checking over and over again for predators, then she’d give in to the frantic cries and hop down to her babies. The cries would crescendo, there would be a great fluffing and flailing of wings and beaks, then there would be silence and the mother bird would fly off to get the next installment of dinner.

And of course, what goes in must come out. Look at the roof. Charming, eh? DSCN0780

11 responses to “Oh, crap

  1. VioletSky – Yes, yes, it would have been sad. Sad and quiet.

  2. At least they didn’t plug up the hole with their nest. Birds nest soup would have been a sad thing to find. Admit it, it would have been sad. Until you fell back into blissful sleep.

  3. Gossamer Woman – I think I need a good Dutch housewife to clean it up for me. Are you coming to Canada any time soon? 🙂

  4. You’ve been adopted by very messy and loud birds, such is your fate. You must have just the right gutters. You’d think a good rainfall would have cured the problem, but obviously not. Somebody needs to get up there with a cleansing brush and scrub very hard. I wonder who that will be?

  5. Jazz – I’m not sure I’d like it even if it were pink! Crap is crap, after all.

    Hannah – I don’t know much about birds at all, but they are tiny (smaller than robins) and dark brown all over. Starlings maybe?

  6. What kind of birds are they? Poor momma bird! She probably didn’t get a card for Mother’s Day either!

  7. Too bad it isn’t pink! Then you’d like it.

  8. Jazz – It is rather cool, true. I’m not too fond of the “residue”, though.

  9. I love having a nest near, besides it doesn’t last all that long.

  10. XUP – I may not even have to hose the roof down once the babies have grown and flown. The rain may do the job for me (did I mention that May hasn’t been the nicest month so far?).

  11. Think of it as a privilege to have these lovely things make your home their home. They’ll be off before you know it and you can hose down the roof.