Sticky

I had a banana with my lunch today. I like bananas a lot and consequently, they don’t last long around here even though I’m really the only one who eats them. They’re a little expensive at this time of year, so I try not to buy them every single time I go shopping, only every second time.

My banana today was tasty, just at that wonderful point in time of perfect sweetness and ripeness. I truly enjoyed it.

When I got home from work, at about 4:30, I started preparations for dinner. I pulled out bowls and dishes from the cupboard and food from the fridge. I got everything measured and mixed and in the oven (I was making a casserole). I got some additional vegetables ready for steaming. I set the table. DD came down to the kitchen to talk as I was pouring myself a glass of wine.

As we were chatting, she looked at me a little quizzically. She often does, so I didn’t really pay any attention. She kept looking at me like I was green, and I started to get a little self-conscious. I ran my fingers through my hair – and pulled out the sticker off my lunchtime banana. Apparently I had been wearing it in my hair all afternoon. I have no idea how I got it there. No one told me it was there, either.

images-12I guess everybody at work thinks it’s pretty normal for me to wear a banana sticker in my hair.

6 responses to “Sticky

  1. Gotta love the colleagues, eh?

  2. You wait. Next week everyone will be wearing banana stickers in their hair because they look to you to set the new fashion trends

    • Hmm. I wonder. That’s entirely possible, since I’ve already influenced many people to wear pink more often. I must be careful, though. With great power comes great responsibility, so I shouldn’t overstep my bounds.

  3. It’s the Chiquita banana lady!
    Carmen Miranda
    will sing to you:
    “I’m Chiquita banana and I’ve come to say,
    Bananas have to ripen in a certain way
    When they are fleck’d with brown and have a golden hue
    Bananas taste the best and are best for you
    You can put them in a salad
    You can put them in a pie-aye
    Any way you want to eat them
    It’s impossible to beat them
    But, bananas like the climate of the very, very tropical equator
    So you should never put bananas in the refrigerator.”