Act your age

So – New Year’s Eve. Seeing Trooper perform. Trooper being a popular Canadian band from the seventies. The seventies being my era, so to speak. Not that I haven’t been a part of the eighties or nineties or the – what do we call this decade, anyway? The uh-ohs?

It’s just that I’m dating myself by specifying “my” era (dating as in carbon dating, but not quite so prehistoric). I’ve had a hard time admitting my age for many years, and having hit the half-century mark last year (I can’t believe I even TYPED that!), it’s worse than it ever was. I mean, obviously I’m as old as I am because DD is 21 years old, and I’ve been teaching for 29 years, and I remember stuff that people my age usually remember. But I just don’t BELIEVE I’m as old as I am.

images-11My mother tells me that inside, she is really about 25. I used to scoff at that, but no more. In my mind, I honestly think I’m somewhere in my twenties, as well. I have always looked younger than I am (apparently that is a Capricorn trait. Also, my dad’s side of the family always looked young.), so when I look in the mirror without my contacts in, I can pretty much see someone who is in her twenties. Okay, late twenties. What gives me away, however, is all this knowledge I have accumulated. Well, that and the aches and pains of my body.

I know things like how the Gulf War started. I know where I was when I heard that John Lennon was assassinated. I know about the two referendums in Québec and how worried many of us were that the vote would be “oui” and that Québec would separate from the rest of Canada. I actually voted for Pierre Trudeau. Twice. I know that leggings were a bad fashion choice twenty years ago and are still a bad fashion choice, especially with a too-short sweater. Ditto for shoulder pads. I remember the original disco and grunge movements, for heaven’s sake!

I also realize that I know almost all the words to almost all the songs that Trooper played the other night, despite the fact that they weren’t exactly my favourite band way back then. I had no idea that their music was so much a part of my consciousness at the time – I guess we can thank the Canadian content broadcast laws for that one.

In addition, I found it quite astonishing that so many of the people who attended the show were so fat, grey or bald, and wrinkled. They were OLD! And the clothes some of them were wearing – don’t you have mirrors, people?! Strangely enough, many of them also knew the words to the songs. I guess even old people like Trooper – because I’m certainly not THAT old.

(And just so you know, they put on a fun, energetic show. Even though they too are a bit past the first bloom of youth!)

3 responses to “Act your age

  1. VioletSky: My mom says, yes, we do get to be 25 inside forever. I don’t argue with my mom.

    Ricardipus: They started and ended with “Raise a little hell”. “Two for the show” was somewhere in the middle, one of the two slow songs they played. Prism was my fave Canadian band of the era, definitely – I still have “Armageddon” kicking around somewhere. And another of my claims to fame is that I went to the same high school as Matt Frenette of Loverboy (although he’s a few years older). Ah – nostalgia!

  2. All together now…

    RAISE A LITTLE HELL, RAISE A LITTLE HELL, RAISE A LITTLE HELL!!!!!!!

    [widdly widdly widdly woo guitar solo]

    Did they finish with “Two For The Show”, as the crowd immersed itself in high school dance nostalgia? I must know.

    Slightly younger than you, it seems – April Wine would be the analogous Canadian band for me, or maybe Prism. Or Harlequin. Or Streetheart. Or maybe Loverboy.

    Oh, dear. I must go and perm my hair now.

    😉

    Happy New Year!

  3. Yup. I comprehend. Exactly.
    Hey, do we get to stay 25 on the inside forever?