Save the daylight!

We just went back to standard time in Canada this morning at 2 a.m. Except the province of Saskatchewan. They don’t do daylight savings time, so they don’t ever have to go back to standard time. They don’t ever have the “fun” of changing every single bloody clock in the house twice a year – and the clocks in the cars, too.

We now have Daylight Savings Time in Canada for most of the year. As of 2007, we now start Daylight Savings on the first Sunday of March and go back to Standard Time on the first Sunday of November. This was an extension of four weeks over the usual amount of time in 2007, and an extension of five weeks this year. That means that we are now on Fake Time for longer than we are on Real Time: eight months of FT as opposed to four months of RT. And for what reason???

I know, I know, it was originally a way to get more daylight hours into the working day, and then it became a way to save energy because we would presumably need less electricity for lighting due to all that natural light. But I don’t know about all that now. I mean, a lot of us work indoors and in offices now, so we need to turn the lights on anyway because either we don’t have windows or those we do have don’t provide enough natural light in which to work. Outdoor workers may benefit, but I’m not one of them so I can’t speak for them and they’ll just have to speak for themselves.

It also seems to me that we’re not truly “saving” any daylight, that we’re simply moving it around a bit, to the opposite end of the day. As a kid, I absolutely hated going to bed in the summer while it was still light out, even though the clock showed eight o’clock, which was my bedtime. As an adult , I hate waking up in the dark in the winter, despite the time on the clock. (To be fair, I hate waking up at any time, winter or summer, so I guess that’s a poor example, isn’t it?)

But most of all, I hate changing all those damn clocks. And I had one more to do this time: my new coffee-maker. Yes, yet another broken appliance, but this one got replaced right smartly. I do have priorities, after all.

Comments are closed.